Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

three questions about tomb kings
Reply
Old 02 Dec 2008, 18:11   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 147
Default three questions about tomb kings

i was drawn to this army for two things, the interesting magic system and chariot units, but i'm unsure about three things.

1) I've never put a character in a chariot before so, if i pay the points in his lord/hero entry to put him in a chariot, do i then have to buy a chariot in the core entry for him to ride (the part about him replacing the crew makes me unsure) ?

2) do they still generate the two power dice all armies do (i play goblins w/ the staff of sneaky stealin) ?

3) does the hierophant go before the other liche priests or after?

thanks in advance for any help ^_^
__________________
"LIMEY MAN TO THE RESCUE!!!! I've come to kick arse and drink tea...and I'm all out of tea"


Please correct me with my spelling! (I know it's terrible)
gumgum921 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Dec 2008, 05:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 124
Default Re: three questions about tomb kings

I love Tomb Kings myself. I was going to play them initially but could never build a list that I liked. Anywho, onto your questions.

1) Playing the point for your character to ride in a chariot is basically buying it. So, no you do not have to buy it from the core.

2) I'm pretty sure they do, but I don't have the rulebook on hand

3) By "go", do you mean die or deployment? A hierophant is basically a specific model, so once he dies, he's dead and you start suffering effects. I pretty sure you can't pass off the role of hierophant off to other liche priests like he were a musician or Standard bearer.
__________________
~
OstentatiousOrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Dec 2008, 05:33   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 360
Default Re: three questions about tomb kings

By go he means cast his what ever they are called spells. Yes I think he does. Isn't it something like tomb king > prince> heirophant > other priests. I don't have the rule book but my best bud plays TK.

I have no idea wether you generate those 2 power dice. If it doesn't say that you don't in their special rules or somewhere else in the book I would imagine you still get em but they are useless other then using to dispel.

As mententioned the chariot is just something you purchase for your prince/king.
space wolf bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Dec 2008, 10:26   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 147
Default Re: three questions about tomb kings

cheers for the help ^_^ its helped alot

going to put my 2000pt list up soon, would appreciate if you could give your advice on it
__________________
"LIMEY MAN TO THE RESCUE!!!! I've come to kick arse and drink tea...and I'm all out of tea"


Please correct me with my spelling! (I know it's terrible)
gumgum921 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Dec 2008, 01:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia-US
Posts: 554
Default Re: three questions about tomb kings

Magic is cast in order from the least important priest to the Hierophant. This is important, because if you later build a list with more than one priest who is not the Hierophant, then they have to continue to go in the same order, but the Hierophant always goes last.

The character in a chariot is just like a character on a horse (he can be fielded on his own or he can join units [only chariot units]) the points are paid for with the character and aren't attached to the units. The bit about replacing the crew is only there to let you know that the chariot is identical to a regular one except that the character acts as the crew.
Darth_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help a noob with Tomb Kings! arsenal1989 The Warhammer World 3 30 Sep 2009 10:06
Tomb kings: Alternate SSC and Tomb Scorpion models? Darth_Fraggle The Warhammer World 1 02 Dec 2008 18:29
Tomb Kings Kaffl The Warhammer World 0 25 Mar 2008 22:47
Any help on Tomb Kings? halohog The Warhammer World 5 11 Jul 2007 19:06
Tomb Kings Brother-Captain The Warhammer World 8 15 Apr 2005 01:57