Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Frenzy Question regarding charge.
Reply
Old 15 Jul 2008, 11:44   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Frenzy Question regarding charge.

Since a frenzied unit must charge a unit if possible, my question is:

a) Do all frenzied units move first?
-or
b) You can move other units first?

If you move a unit in the path of a valid charge, does that charge then become invalid? E.g. if a unit of Savage Boarboyz was accompanied by a unit of Wolf Riders and are arrayed against an Empire infantry block and a detachment, would the Wolf Rider be able to make the charge to the detachment invalid by moving in the way of the path?

The idea is to mimic the cataphract-heavy archer tactics of Nicephorus .
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2008, 12:21   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,117
Send a message via MSN to arguleon-veq
Default Re: Frenzy Question regarding charge.

Well you move chargers before any remaining moves. You also measure for the frenzy charge before remaining moves.

So no, you cant really block it.
__________________
Brunettes and Beer.
arguleon-veq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2008, 20:54   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: Frenzy Question regarding charge.

Would it still be possible though in a lesser form, assuming that the prior turn proper movements were made to keep distraction units screened against

E.g. a unit of Duellists is obviously out of charge range from the unit of Savage Orc spearmen, and 7th ed says frenzied troops must charge whenever they can, not that they must move towards the closest target. Assuming that there was out of charge-reach, could one order the

Finally, could one declares the "blocker" unit charges the tarpit prior to the frenzied charge, so long as the intent to charge is legitimate. (e.g. if the person declares a charge on a unit it obviously cannot reach, with the intent to move prior to all other charges, that is obviously cheating. But assuming that unit of goblins was intended to keep the Duellists occupied, would it still be able to charge, eliminating the duellists as a valid chargable target?
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jul 2008, 00:14   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,117
Send a message via MSN to arguleon-veq
Default Re: Frenzy Question regarding charge.

In that scenario, unless the Duellists moved towards you then you wouldnt have to charge anyway as they still arent in range and you can charge with your gobbos.

Plus think about it. If you are using the Gobbos to charge a unit to stop the frenzied unit charging, you are really only going to be able to engage all the models the frenzied troops can see if you are right in front of the frenzied troops, if you are then the frenzied troops can see the enemy and so wont charge anyway.

So in most cases, the gobbos would be coming in on an angle, which will still leave models visable for the frenzied troops to see and so charge.

Seriously, it would be a very rare occurence for it to work out how you want. Id just stick with screens.
__________________
Brunettes and Beer.
arguleon-veq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Piranha Feeding Frenzy? emptythreat Tau 15 02 Aug 2009 08:44
Charge Bonus Question Elliott General 40K 7 20 Oct 2007 21:18
Rules Question... Charge bonus... ChaosDog84 General 40K 8 14 May 2007 15:34
How do you handle frenzy? AlexOrk General 40K 11 14 Jan 2005 11:40