Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Beastman Questions
Reply
Old 12 Mar 2008, 14:44   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Beastman Questions

I have the Beasts of Chaos book on me, and i am looking at page 53. It says a Bray Shaman can use the Lores of Beasts, Shadows, or Death, or he may use the Lore of Nurgle or Slaanesh if given the appropriate mark. However, it doesn't say he HAS to (unlike with the Hordes of Chaos Sorcerer). My question would be then could a Bray Shaman take the Mark of Nurgle and still take any of the first 3 lores, and would he get the bonus to irresistable force casting with the Plague Chalice?

Also, since Raiders are basically Skirmishers with the ability to get a +2 rank bonus, my question is since they can get a rank bonus, would they negate a target unit's rank bonus if they charged it from the flank? Since they have the ability to move like skirmishers, does this in turn mean they cannot ever be flanked?
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2008, 16:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via AIM to deraj Send a message via MSN to deraj
Default Re: Beastman Questions

Yes they can choose the other magics, they can still negate ranks if they flank. And if they are flanked they do not get their own ranks.
deraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2008, 16:03   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: Beastman Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by deraj
Yes they can choose the other magics, they can still negate ranks if they flank. And if they are flanked they do not get their own ranks.
How would you flank a Raider unit though. As skirmishers-like units, they have 360* movement, right?
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2008, 16:04   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via AIM to deraj Send a message via MSN to deraj
Default Re: Beastman Questions

Yeah, but skirmishers don't get ranks. I.E. if you want to use them purely as skirmishers, you can't get the ranks. You can't go both ways there.
deraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Mar 2008, 16:07   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: Beastman Questions

The rules say they count as skirmishers except for being able to get a +2 rank bonus, forming into a unit for melee, and only being able to charge a unit if at least a quarter of their models can reach.

So the question is should a unit of beastmen be charged, how does it work if:

they're not engaged in melee?
They're engaged in melee?
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beastman basecoat question bombevil Painting 1 26 Feb 2010 10:54
Beastman Farseer_Emlyn The Warhammer World 9 09 Jun 2009 21:12
Beastman Kill Team Egyptoid Conversion 2 08 Aug 2007 00:05
Tau Firewarrior/ Beastman Conversion SparkeyG Conversion 16 10 Apr 2006 00:17
Beastman Chaos Space Marine Kre Mont re Showcase 7 26 Feb 2005 18:06