Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

1500 Pts Clan Moulder (Skaven)
Closed Thread
Old 10 Aug 2006, 20:15   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default 1500 Pts Clan Moulder (Skaven)

Hey, I'm new to Skaven, but I want to create a Clan Moulder army rather than a regular list. So far I think it's pretty good, but I have never used giant rats, so I am not sure how big the unit should be. I know I'm missing rat swarms, but right now I'm not sure what to remove to add it in. Comments appreciated.

Heroes
Harbringer of Mutation-Hand Weapon, Whip, 1 Dispel Scroll
Harbringer of Mutation-Same as Above

Core Units
6 Giant Rat Packs
6 Giant Rat Packs
6 Giant Rat Packs (3 Seperate Units)
Clanrat Regiment-x25, Hand Weapons, Light Armour, and Shield, Full Command
Clanrat Regiment-x25, Hand Weapons, Light Armour, and Shield, Standard & Musician
Slaves-x20
Slaves-x20

Special
4 Rat Ogres
4 Rat Ogres

Total-1502

Thanks in Advance,
Flawfull
Old 14 Aug 2006, 09:40   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: 1500 Pts Clan Moulder (Skaven)

hmm. 6 packs in each unit. u know one pack consist of 6 rats and a packmaster, i think that will be pretty big units!. im not sure if thats good or not. i have heard its better to go with 3 packs in each unit, myself im going for two
Old 16 Aug 2006, 15:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

Hey there! Welcome to the hordes!

Firstly those 3 units of 6 giant rats each are HUGE! Perhaps a little too huge, each unit is going to have 42 models in it! Just a little bit big.

What I would honestly recomend is taking your army and making it a regular Skaven list.

Why? Well quite simply Harbingers of Mutation really aren't all that impressive and the moulder list doesn't really do much other than change your main stay unit.

Giant rats work best (i find) as small units running between your other units/on the flanks where they're movement 6 really becomes nasty. I find between 2-4 packs a unit is optimal.