Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

dark elves
Closed Thread
Old 19 Jul 2006, 17:54   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default dark elves

hey i have a dark elves list i made i want you to check out im new to fantasy so go easy on me

high sorceress
tome of furion
wand of the kharaidon
dark pegasus

noble draich of dark power cold one

cold one knights 5
standard of slaughter dread knight
cold one

sorceress
darkstar cloak
dispel scroll

warriors 18 spear
lording

warriors 19 spear
lording

warriors 10 repeating crossbows
dark riders 6

war hydra
apprentice

reaper bow thrower 2
crew 4

Death Guard win 13 tie 0 lost 2

dark eldar wins 5 tie 0 lost 1
Old 21 Jul 2006, 15:38   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: dark elves

It's a solid, if unspectacular list.

I'll make a few suggestions and give you my reasoning for said suggestions.

For Cold One Knights, I find that the Banner of Murder is much more effective. For ten points more, you get +D6" on your charge moves everytime you charge. So you've taken a 14" charge move and made it a 15"-20" charge move. I've gotten off 3 charges in a 6-turn game using this malevolent piece of kit on more than one occasion... no small feat. With the Standard of Slaughter, you get extra combat resolution the FIRST time the unit charges... and that's it. One use only. This might be useful doing frontal charges on Chosen Knights... not a good idea by any standard. If you line them up 4 wide, you should get 2-3 W from the Knights and another 1-2 from the Cold Ones themselves, thus denying attacks back in many cases, which means you'll swamp 'em on CR anyway. The Banner of Murder helps ensure you get there.