Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............
Reply
Old 01 May 2009, 02:51   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,610
Default Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

........ the same as the following.

Move 6.0"

Run D6

Charge up to 12.0"

Do I have this straight?

Best Regards,

__________________
Brunettes and Beer
IVEATCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 03:12   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to megagnat1
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Is this for gaunts?
__________________
"Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today.
megagnat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 03:48   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,610
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Actually any unit that can be granted a "leaping" biomorph. I think that includes Warriors or Rippers.

Guants have fleet of Claw which means that they can assault 6.0" the same turn that they run.
__________________
Brunettes and Beer
IVEATCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 04:16   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 4,360
Send a message via AIM to Gada Mazaha Send a message via MSN to Gada Mazaha
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Leaping does not grant D6" of movement, you can only run. That is for units with the Beast rule and Gaunts with Fleet of Claw.
Gada Mazaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 04:24   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 109
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Quote:
Originally Posted by IVEATCH
........ the same as the following.

Move 6.0"

Run D6

Charge up to 12.0"

Do I have this straight?

Best Regards,
That is how it is for Hormagaunts, yes. Leaping also lets units in CC attack when they are within 3" of a model in base contact with the enemy, instead of just 2", so more of them will be able to attack if you're using a large brood.

Leaping does not automatically confer fleet though. There are other things that can have leaping that don't have fleet, like warriors and rippers.
Wyvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 16:15   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

this is fine for hormagaunts as they count as beasts and they have fleet of claw. Other units i think you have to buy leaping for but if you can't get it (as with genestealers) scuttlers works fine for me.
The Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2009, 16:48   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Quote:
Originally Posted by IVEATCH
........ the same as the following.

Move 6.0"

Run D6

Charge up to 12.0"

Do I have this straight?

Best Regards,
As others have stated, yes this is correct for Hormagaunts.

Not so if you put leaping on Warriors though. Warriors would have a 6.0" move, and only a 12.0" assault, they do not get the D6" run before hand or they can not assault because they are not fleet.

Also as others have stated, you can be 3" out from the closest model in base contact and still get attacks in CC rather than the 2" a non-leaping model would have.
Nezalhualixtlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2009, 20:39   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Re: Ok, Easy Question .... Leaping Equals ............

Simple answer.

Leaping = +6" to your normal assault range.

This means it is ALWAYS a 12" assault range.

It means nothing other than that.
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question regarding 12" leaping assaults. Ekiel Tyranids 1 09 Jul 2009 06:02
Real Easy Question (probably) GueVesaUnit Computers, Science and Technology 4 16 May 2007 19:34
Err... my taskbar is screwed up... quick easy question Frosty05 Computers, Science and Technology 2 19 Mar 2007 17:24
Ok, easy question... I just need to know. Trillian_1369 The Warhammer World 22 11 Nov 2005 10:18
easy question UXO Tau 7 31 Aug 2005 14:02