Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Did you know that Tyranids are NOT bugs?
Closed Thread
Old 26 Oct 2008, 18:17   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Did you know that Tyranids are NOT bugs?

I was wondering, how many people know that tyranids are not bugs?
Nor have they ever been meant to represent bugs.

The bugs concept came from the Imperials point of view and of course people who play the game that gave the Nids that nickname.

When I first was introduced to Tyranids my first impression was "these guys look like Dinosaurs" just looking at the Carnifex, Tyrant, Hormagaunts and others I got that Dinosaur feel to them. And I was pretty surprised when I started playing against other people outside my group and they referred to my models as bugs or roaches and other type of bug references.

At first I thought they were just mad because they were on the losing end of the battle. But then I realized they always call them that and are obessed with calling them that. Which was pretty annoying to me. Because from my point of view my great army which I viewed as something monstrous, jurassic park-type, monstrous, godzilla-esque destroy all in sight had been reduced to a mosquito.

Mosquitos and bugs just aren't as cool to me. Then one day I was reading up online and I read that the creators intention all along was to create an alien dinosaur-like race. And that made me feel a lot better, evil alien dinosaurs are a lot more interesting that evil bugs from space.

In my army's color scheme I tried to have a reptilian look by making their skin green to push for the dino within. So I was curious to know if the rest of you see the Nids as Bugs or Dinos. And if you knew that the creators meant for Dinos not Bugs.