Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Biovores! what happens when I have 3 of them....?
Reply
Old 10 Oct 2008, 14:32   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: U.K- Up north
Posts: 196
Default Biovores! what happens when I have 3 of them....?

Hi Guys,

I've just been reading up on the biovores and how to use them and got slightly puzzled!

If I have a brood of 3 Biovores, the brood "fires as many spore mines as there biovores in the brood"

The firing is resolved as a barrage. So when I fire (in LOS) they scatter 2 d6 minus BS. If I hit a unit,I roll a scatter dice again for each blast to a total of 3, placing the 2nd and third in contact with each other.

If I miss, I place one model where it scattered to, then place any remaining spore mines in base to base contact.


Now the confusion is arising with regard to how many shots I recieve:


As each biovore can fire 3 times in a brood of 3, do i repeat the barrage 3 times as descibed above? If i missed, this would result in 3 separate groups of spore mines floating about.


Or does it apply when rolling for each blast to scatter from the first (when you have hit an enemy unit)? So i would scatter 8 more times after a sucessful hit. This seems very over powered, and would result in a group of 9 sporemines floating round together if i missed.


Finally, does it work out as, i can only ever lay down 3 blasts a turn, one from each biovore, but if i miss i can place 3 sporemines where it scatters to.


Sorry if this comes across as daft, but it needs answering! Becuase 9 str 3 ap3 blasts for 165 points seems a bit on the cheap side :P
__________________
"Cheese Sir?"

"Yes indeed Giles"
Trick3003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2008, 14:47   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 970
Send a message via AIM to Mage001 Send a message via MSN to Mage001
Default Re: Biovores! what happens when I have 3 of them....?

Biovores only fire as many spore mines as there are Biovores in the group. This means, if you have 3 Biovores, you only ever get to fire 3 Spore Mines. If you hit, you resolve it as a barrage, 2 more times for a total of three. If you miss, you place three spore mines down where the template landed.
__________________
All suspects are guilty. Period. Otherwise they wouldn't be suspect, would they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lycan
I'd like to call it... "Fair", I mean, she has boobs, how'd we compete?
Mage001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2008, 15:16   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: U.K- Up north
Posts: 196
Default Re: Biovores! what happens when I have 3 of them....?

I thought so! thanks for the confirmation. Please lock this mods!
__________________
"Cheese Sir?"

"Yes indeed Giles"
Trick3003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Biovores.... Nefrugle Tyranids 3 19 Jun 2010 20:47
biovores? Obon80 Tyranids 5 18 Aug 2009 13:01
Biovores Scizor Showcase 15 05 May 2008 13:06
Biovores Funshade Tyranids 10 29 Jul 2007 03:02
Biovores HiveMined Tyranids 28 26 Aug 2004 02:41