Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tyrant with devourers how many shots?
Reply
Old 08 Oct 2008, 11:39   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Tyrant with devourers how many shots?

I've read many times about the advantages of equipping a Hive Tyrant with two devourers in order to get 12 attack dice with a re-roll (e.g. http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=72438.0 among others). Why is this not 6 dice with a re-roll, given the sentence in the codex "A Tyranid carrying two of the same ranged weapon counts them as a single twin-linked weapon"? I realize that these weapons are quoted as twin-linked in the Tyrants weapon options but then it makes no sense to pick it twice if this codex sentence is enforced.

Thanks for any help!
blacksauron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2008, 12:04   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Tyrant with devourers how many shots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksauron
I've read many times about the advantages of equipping a Hive Tyrant with two devourers in order to get 12 attack dice with a re-roll (e.g. http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=72438.0 among others). Why is this not 6 dice with a re-roll, given the sentence in the codex "A Tyranid carrying two of the same ranged weapon counts them as a single twin-linked weapon"? I realize that these weapons are quoted as twin-linked in the Tyrants weapon options but then it makes no sense to pick it twice if this codex sentence is enforced.

Thanks for any help!
Don't have my Codex in front of me, but I'm pretty sure that when the weapon is already twin-linked, as is the case for the Devourer on the Hive Tyrant by default, then the addition of the same second weapon just adds a second twin-linked weapon of that type, effectively doubling the number of shots from the first on the creature as a whole. It's only when they weapons themselves aren't twin linked and you take two that that ends up twin-linking them rather than doubling the number of shots.

Again, I'd need to pull out my Codex and check exact wording though.
Nezalhualixtlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2008, 12:35   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Tyrant with devourers how many shots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nezalhualixtlan

Don't have my Codex in front of me, but I'm pretty sure that when the weapon is already twin-linked, as is the case for the Devourer on the Hive Tyrant by default, then the addition of the same second weapon just adds a second twin-linked weapon of that type, effectively doubling the number of shots from the first on the creature as a whole. It's only when they weapons themselves aren't twin linked and you take two that that ends up twin-linking them rather than doubling the number of shots.

Again, I'd need to pull out my Codex and check exact wording though.
This is where that combination is coming from. Starting from the beginning, two of the same weapon on a model count as being one twin linked version of that weapon. In the case of the Hive tyrant and other Tyranid MC, they have one more slot open for weapons, adding another two weapons would mean that you have one more TL version f that weapon. So the first set of TL devourers gives you 2X shots (in the case of the Hive Tyrant) for a total of 6 shots. One more weapon slot remains, which could be filled by another TL devourer giving an additional 6 shots. In total this MC would have 12 TL shots, and due to living ammunition also re roll to wound, its no surprise this is a common configuration!

The case where you cannot double up on TL weapons is when using the Tyranid heavy weapons such as Barbed strangler and Venom Cannon. In such a case taking two of them counts as TL as usual, but each weapon uses up a weapon slot on its own.
__________________
Alright Blood Angels, who wants to play pin the Tau on the carnifex!
Sau1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2008, 12:41   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Tyrant with devourers how many shots?

Thanks for the answers, this makes it much clearer .
blacksauron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trigon Prime 12 shots or 18 shots? chicop76 Tyranids 11 18 Mar 2010 17:42
Does Toxic Miasma on a Tyrant affect Attacks Against Tyrant Guard? IVEATCH Tyranids 15 13 Jan 2009 13:40
Help: Tyranid Warriors with twinlinked devourers GeorgeCrane Tyranids 6 11 Mar 2008 05:44
Str6 Shots Glorified!-1500-Just How Many Shots? Dimes Eldar Army Lists 6 30 Jan 2008 08:32
Raveners with Devourers? Calaban Tyranids 31 24 Apr 2007 16:22