Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

where can I get a board of foam
Closed Thread
Old 09 Mar 2007, 22:05   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 744
Send a message via MSN to firewarrior123
Default where can I get a board of foam

I live in melbourne, victoria, australia, and i want to make a board. im looking at a 6' by 4' piece of foam. i am only 13 and dont have a credit card so dont bother posting links to places that send the foam overseas cos i cant pay for it online.

thanks ;D
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
firewarrior123 is offline  
Old 12 Mar 2007, 04:25   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,744
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

I was looking for foam in my area too. Call around to your local hardware stores to see who carries insulation foam. You may have some trouble finding it due to the climate in your area. I live in Texas and have had some trouble getting my hands on some.
Cadaver is offline  
Old 14 Mar 2007, 01:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: washington.
Posts: 344
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

home depote best p[lace and for cheep to like 7 dollars for a 6 by 2 or 6 by 3 im 15 and have trouble getting money aswell hahahahaha well ttyl peace
__________________
-Exodist-
DesertTAU40 is offline  
Old 14 Mar 2007, 15:09   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 264
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

Firewarrior> Here is a major distributor in your neck of the woods. Sometimes you must goto the source to find out where to get your hands on some!

Update #2: DING! Foam Down Under! Look at the picture THIS link shows! (lower left corner a whole stack of 1/2" Dow blue Extruded foam!

http://www.boral.com.au/exp/products...exportPartners

Appart of the problem is comunication, you guys don't have Lowe's, or Home Depot, and apparently there is a chain of stores called Boral, so it HELPS us to help you.. Drywall supply's is your key thing to look up.

Also see:
Aerodynamic Developments Pty Ltd

Address: Unit 8, 171-175 Newton Rd Wetherill Park NSW 2164

Phone:1800 051 100
Fax: 02 9604 7468
Web:
http://www.aeromfg.com.au

Styrofoam Roofmate boards, insulation / membrane protection, IRMA systems.

Tip: Look where the Model Railroad hobbie stores are located, they use Extruded Foam to make terrain too. They KNOW where to get it, if they are serious modelers.

UPDATE: This is a MASSIVE list of every known Train Shop in Australia, Some where some how, someone KNOWS where to buy this stuff..

Shops
All Aboard Modellbahn http://www.allaboard.com.au/
Aust-N-Rail http://www.aust-n-rail.plann.com.au/
Bergs Hobbies http://www.bergshobbies.com/
Brunel Models http://www.bdsonline.net/brunelmodels/
Branch Line http://www.branchline.com.au
Casula Hobbies http://www.casulahobbies.com.au/catalog
Christmas Every Day www.christmaseveryday.com.au
Dave's Hobby Centre http://www.hobbycentre.com.au/
European Trains http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~trainset/
Frontline Hobbies http://www.frontlinehobbies.com.au/
Gwydir Valley Models http://www.gwydirvalleymodels.com/
Hobby Place http://www.hobbyplace.com.au/
Hobbies Plus http://www.hobbiesplus.com.au/
Hornby Shop (WA) http://www.hornbyshop.com/
Horizon Hobbies http://www.horizonhobbies.com.au/default.asp
HobbyCo http://www.hobbyco.com.au/
I R Models http://www.irmodels.com/
Junction models http://www.junctionmodels.com.au
Lloyds Model Railways http://www.lloydsmodelrail.com.au
Model Railway Wizard (NSW) http://www.modelrailwaywizard.com.au/
Moreton Bay Model Railways http://home.primus.com.au/mbmr/index.html
N Trains http://www.n-trains.com.au/
Orient Express Model Railway Shop http://users.chariot.net.au/~oexpress/products.htm
Pamak Hobbies http://www.pamakhobbies.com/
Perth Hobby Centre http://www.perthhobbycentre.com.au/
Road & Rail Online Hobby Shop www.roadandrail.net
Signal Box Model Railways and Hobbies http://infobluemountains.net.au/signalbox/Default.htm
Stanbridge's Hobbies http://www.stanbridges.com.au/
Technol Trains http://www.technolace.com/trains/modules/news
The Railcar http://www.railcar.com.au/
The N Scaler http://members.ozemail.com.au/~kerr43/nscaler.html
Tom's Hobbies http://www.tomshobbies.com.au/
Train Trader http://www.traintrader.com.au/
Train World http://www.trainworld.com.au/
The Model Railway Craftaman http://www.mrrc.com.au
Vagg's Radio Models and Hobbies http://www.vaggshobbies.com.au/
Woodpecker Model Railways http://www.woodpeckermodelrailways.com.au/


The execution of all things> Texas = Lowes of Home Depot and order it. Otherwise your next best source will come from the Local Model Railroad store, they use this stuff all the time to make scenes for the trains.

LordBlacksteel
LordBlacksteel is offline  
Old 15 Mar 2007, 08:59   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 744
Send a message via MSN to firewarrior123
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

Holy s*** lordblacksteel you are a legend! ;D
Thanks to the others too.

By the way, i got my dad to use is credit cart over the internet so i got a piece on order. now to come up with some board ideas! >
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
firewarrior123 is offline  
Old 15 Mar 2007, 17:48   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 264
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

Firewarrior> And you told us you didn't have a Credit Card.. See that ! You do! :-*

Anyways, what sizes did you end up buying? and WHERE DID YOU GET IT?? Cause there's more Aussies here that need to KNOW where you bought yours at!

Share the news!

Glad you got what your after.

LordBlacksteel

LordBlacksteel is offline  
Old 17 Mar 2007, 08:49   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 744
Send a message via MSN to firewarrior123
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

I decided to get some from an art supplier cos it looked so nice and easy to use. unfortunately the site i used didnt have any large boards and i had quite a bit of money to use, so i decided to go for the best. ;D

http://www.utrechtart.com/dsp_view_p...me=&item=41364

I bought two cartons of this stuff which cost me 50 bucks us dollars cos my dad chipped in the other half including shipping.
I plan to glue all the boards thenn cover them with sand. after that im not sure ???
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
firewarrior123 is offline  
Old 17 Mar 2007, 19:44   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: washington.
Posts: 344
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

ur gettin 50 boards??
__________________
-Exodist-
DesertTAU40 is offline  
Old 17 Mar 2007, 22:12   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 744
Send a message via MSN to firewarrior123
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

yup! ;D
__________________
(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination
firewarrior123 is offline  
Old 17 Mar 2007, 22:42   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: washington.
Posts: 344
Default Re: where can I get a board of foam

is it just foam core board? cause if it is ur gona need some stableness like a piece of thick wood under neath it.(so it dosnt snap in half) with 50 if its foam core u could make a huge urban city with all that u got coming lol or giant dunes woth a few tau structures in there hahah just given some ideas.good luck once u get them and happy building
__________________
-Exodist-
DesertTAU40 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Pink Foam/High Density Foam Mana-Valkyrie Terrain 5 13 May 2010 00:17
Battle Foam Wolf-Tau General 40K 6 21 Dec 2009 02:42
Does any one know where I can get the tank foam from? laxlover_bill369 Hobby 5 22 Oct 2006 03:33
Foam Board battlecraze Terrain 17 15 May 2005 03:44
Foam/Polystyrene Kre Mont re Terrain 2 28 Oct 2004 11:22