Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Disengaging drones and unit coherency question
Closed Thread
Old 09 Aug 2005, 20:54   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 229
Default Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

I recently played in a game that involved a bit of a rule dispute regarding gun drones on DF's.

Since they become a separate unit after "disembarking" from the fish, do they have to move into unit coherency when they detach? or can they detach and be on opposite sides of the fish?

It came up after I had "disembarked " my drones and my opponent assaulted one of them. They were not within 2" of each other so I thought that 1 could not be hit. He said that they must move into coherency after disembarking, and theerfore wiped them out.

This would mean the gun drones can only move one way when disembarking- out front and in coherency.
I always thought they could be removed and could move into coherency on the next turn.

What is the ruling on this??
__________________
Good, Bad, I'm the one with the gun
Shaso Rama is offline  
Old 09 Aug 2005, 21:24   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaso Rama
I recently played in a game that involved a bit of a rule dispute regarding gun drones on DF's.

Since they become a separate unit after "disembarking" from the fish, do they have to move into unit coherency when they detach? or can they detach and be on opposite sides of the fish?

It came up after I had "disembarked " my drones and my opponent assaulted one of them. They were not within 2" of each other so I thought that 1 could not be hit. He said that they must move into coherency after disembarking, and theerfore wiped them out.

This would mean the gun drones can only move one way when disembarking- out front and in coherency.
I always thought they could be removed and could move into coherency on the next turn.

What is the ruling on this??
Gun Drones are considered passengers in regards to damage. When they "disembark" from the Devilfish, they do so just like any other squad disembarks. They do not just unhinge from their holding bays. Rule-wise, there is nothing about them only being able to disembark from their holding bays. They disembark as a normal unit does, from the only entry points we have on the Fish, ie: left side, right side, or rear. They cannot disembark from the front of a Devilfish. Page 20 has the rules for how they disembark (exactly the same as normal infantry do).

So as for your question, that rules dispute actually shouldn't have come up, because when they disembark, they would have been in coherency already anyways, as par the rules of disembarking.

The problem stemmed from you disembarking your Gun Drones in a way that actually isn't legal

Remember: Gun Drones "detach" as a disembarking normal infantry unit. Ie: they disembark from a port, which on the devilfish can only be found on the left, right and rear of the fish, and when they disembark, they must be in coherency and all that.

Anyhow, you can do it next time

Cheers!
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Old 10 Aug 2005, 14:06   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 387
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

But what about hammerhead it doesn't have any acces point so where should gund drones disembark from hammerhead? I allways played like the hammerhead and devilfish alike have acces point for drones on the place of drone cradles. I know it isn't in rules but it is fair.
Rogen is offline  
Old 10 Aug 2005, 14:10   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

I don't think those things on the HH are drones.

Wanax
Shaso Wanax is offline  
Old 10 Aug 2005, 14:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

The burst cannon and SMS turrets are not drones, but if you upgrade a Hammerhead with the Gun Drones upgrade the best way to represent them is by placing them in the drone cradles and putting the secondary weapons in self made mounts on either side of the chin sensor dome.
AuinMyrrath is offline  
Old 10 Aug 2005, 15:33   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York city
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to DireStrike Send a message via MSN to DireStrike
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

And if you gave drones to the hammerhead, you would - according to Malveaux's explanation - disembark them from the access hatches as if they were fire warriors.
DireStrike is offline  
Old 10 Aug 2005, 16:05   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to Shirrin
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

But the Hammerhead has no access hatches in its profile. I would detach gundrones from wherever they were attached, but you must still keep them in coherency. That's how ive a;ways played it anyways, oh and you can move them in different areas, you just have to be creative with your two inches.
__________________
"I am the Triggerman, I pull the Trigger"
Rest in Peace KJ
Shirrin is offline  
Old 12 Aug 2005, 01:43   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 254
Send a message via MSN to joeboy77
Default Re: Disengaging drones and unit coherency question

I was actually told by a red shirt (GW employee) that drones detatch from the front.

The 2" coherency issue for me does mean I need to put my drones w/in a 2" radius from their cradles. Which means either 2" from the lhs or rhs drone cradle or 2" in front of the tank.

But I could be mistaken, so please don't take my word for it... ask around. That's just how we play in our shop.
__________________
Man who stands on top of mountain for roast duck to fly in mouth... have long wait.

So get off yer butt and go for your dreams !!

Please Visit http://www.forevermorejewellery.com

Do you know that WoW spelled backwards is WoW ??

Read it upside down, it spells MoM...

Freakky
joeboy77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sniper Coherency question snaltis Tau 1 24 May 2008 14:33
Question on 4" Coherency XV88-2 Pilot General 40K 4 10 Nov 2007 07:35
Unit Coherency StaffordGames Expansions 1 21 Oct 2007 10:42
Sniper Drones - My new favourite unit Yaifrog Tau 10 12 Apr 2007 04:13
sniper drones- coherency sycotikpryo Tau 22 24 May 2006 18:49