Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

XV8 questions
Old 26 Mar 2011, 16:55   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default XV8 questions

I'm rather new at playing Tau (been playing Fantasy Orcs before). I've read through several of the existing threads here and got some answers to many of the questions I have. But not all.

My specific thoughts here are about the gazillion XV8 configurations in specific. Of course I realize that the choices depend on whether one wants to have an anti-infantry, anti-tank or a broad variety of war gear.

For a 1500-1750 point army, I'm aiming for a Shas'el commander with 2 bodyguards for HQ choice and 3 XV8 elites:

(Weapon choices only)
1 Shas'el with CIB / Plasma Rifle
1 Bodyguard with Plasma Rifle and ...? Here I have no clue. Plasma rifle has a decent range and AP but the question is if Burst Cannon or Missile Pod are good choices?
2nd bodyguard-to-be is a Battle box XV8 which already is configured with a Flamer and Fusion rifle. Stupid choice maybe, but it was before I was entirely aware of practical tactics and all possibilities of the Tau.

I see the bodyguard's function simply to keep the rubble off the commander.

3 XV8 elites:
Plasma rifles and Burst cannons. Plasma rifles for decent AP and Burst cannons for the masses.

No more Fusion blasters you say? I aim for keeping my future 2 broadsuits and the markerlight/seeker missile function of the troop choices (and the marker drone/stealthies) for anti-tank purposes. That makes anti-tank choices of the XV8 suits rather pointless to me.

Grateful for all comments.
Gondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Mar 2011, 17:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal