Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau units strengths and weaknesses.
Old 20 Mar 2011, 13:03   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Tau units strengths and weaknesses.

So after a couple of recent debates on this forum Ive wanted to write out a rundown of many of the units, their tactical value, their learning curve and their overall worth.
Keep in mind this is my personal oppinion on the units and while it is in part also to once again say I think the skyray and vespids are both awesome units it is just as much for me to learn some of the units Im not that good with yet.
Im going to skip the units that are already self explanatory or would fit in naturally under a different units category.
And Im blatantly skipping the units everyone tends to agree is awesome.

Ethereal - Basically arent they pretty much just an expensive ''Win button'' for our enemies?
We pay for a unit with a kick me sign on it? Okay we can give them a bodyguard unit which is basically more fire warriors who aim their weapons abit better (hits 16,6% more often)
Still due to the limited size we can make our FW's when maxed out they still kill fewer models/points and are still a ''Win button'' for any opponent who can push it successfully.

Kroot - Overall IMHO a decent hybrid unit. Against some opponents they are just as effective in shooting as FW's except they come with some nifty CC abilities and can under some circumstances be a pretty good gunline screen.
Not really much to say about them besides that.

Pathfinders - Pretty much this is a buff unit. They dont really do much on their own however they can give other units a very powerful boost. Basically whichever enemy you want dead before your shooting phase ends is the one you light up with these guys.