Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Sheild Drone confusion and drone confusion in general
Old 24 Jan 2011, 22:14   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Sheild Drone confusion and drone confusion in general

Hello all, I'm new to these parts having come from running Daemon Hunters and Codex Space Marines.

I am just starting a Tau army and there are a couple of things with which I'm still confused and haven't been able to find an answer.

1) Does a commander with 2 drones have to take a morale check when losing one of them, and count as less than 50% if both die?

2) If a commander with 2 drones is assaulted can the commander be picked out or do the drones count as a retinue for assault purposes?

Thanks in advance and I apologize if this was already answered somewhere else that I wasn't able to find.
fuzbuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2011, 22:44   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

i know the drones can be assaulted and then the unit counts as being assaulted, both drones and commander
OrangeSmurf321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2011, 13:40   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzbuckle View Post
I am just starting a Tau army and there are a couple of things with which I'm still confused and haven't been able to find an answer.

1) Does a commander with 2 drones have to take a morale check when losing one of them, and count as less than 50% if both die?

2) If a commander with 2 drones is assaulted can the commander be picked out or do the drones count as a retinue for assault purposes?
Hi, i am not expert not having played in a long time. However Assault rules still apply across all races so let me take a stab at answering.

1) I believe drones are considered as Battle-suit Warear pg.25, and are not part of a unit as such. Drones are only a unit when they are in an independent squadron pg.38