Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

500 Point Tau vs Space Marines Escalation Campaign
Old 09 Jan 2011, 05:34   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default 500 Point Tau vs Space Marines Escalation Campaign

Hey all,

New to the forum, but I'm starting an escalation campaign with a longtime space marine player. I've never played fewer than 1500 pts, so I'm a bit out of my element crafting this list. Every game the campaign moves up 250 points, and you can change 20% of your points if you win and only 10% if you lose. My initial idea was this, though i worry starting without a Shas'O since I'll want him later in the campaign...

HQ
90 - Shas'El, Cyclic Ion Blaster, Plasma Rifle, Multi-tracker

ELITES
186 - 3 Sha'sui Crisis suit, Plasma Rifle, Missile Pods, Multi Tracker

TROOPS
80 - 8 Fire Warriors, Pulse Rifles
70 - 10 Kroot

HEAVY SUPPORT
70 - 1 Broadside SMS

496 points

I'm pretty new to Tau and 40k in general so any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
canucklehead42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jan 2011, 06:59   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Personally I wouldn't use kroot in the first match because I don't think they will do that much before being shot down and so the points would be better spent on just reducing the squad of fire warriors to 6 and adding a second squad of them for more flexible shooting. You can then spend the extra points on what you want maybe protection for broadside or just increase the number of fire warriors in the squads until you are at your max points. That's just what I think I'm sure many will disagree with me but still.
Gradejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jan 2011, 09:19   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

ahh the kroot thing i kinda agree with and kinda don't in a lower point game their ability to infiltrate on top of an objective is very good since you generally can't afford transports.