Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Tau Sniper Question (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/83053-tau-sniper-question.html)

Antisocialnerd 12 Sep 2010 14:58

Tau Sniper Question
 
Hey im a new player to tau and was wondering if you placed a unit of snipers in front of broadsides would the broadsides (A) get a 4+ cover save and (B) due to TLOS be able to fire back without giving away a 4+ cover save i ask since i'm hoping to do this instead of buying shield drones for the broadsides.

I'm hoping to make two such firebases so if you shoot at the snipers you have to contend with the stealth field and if you shoot at the broadsides you have the 4+ cover without any negatives or am i asking too much?

oh and for anyone who is wondering why i think the broadsides wouldn't give away a cover i'm hoping they can see over the snipers in the same way hammerheads can see over low cover like small trees due to it's height

maddosammo 12 Sep 2010 17:38

soz no u couldnt because it is stated in the 40k rules

Antisocialnerd 12 Sep 2010 18:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by maddosammo (Post 1385259)
soz no u couldnt because it is stated in the 40k rules

Under what on what page etc it's not i don't believe you but where does it state that and what is the reason because i know you can do something very similar with stealth suits covering crisis suits though they do move around in order to avoid giving the enemy a 4+ cover save.

so if stealth suits can do what i want to do with snipers and hammerheads can us TLOS to shoot over things giving it a cover save what exactly is in breach of the rules my main concern here was mainly are broadsides tall enough to shoot over drones to be honest.

maddosammo 17 Sep 2010 06:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Antisocialnerd (Post 1385261)
Under what on what page etc it's not i don't believe you but where does it state that and what is the reason because i know you can do something very similar with stealth suits covering crisis suits though they do move around in order to avoid giving the enemy a 4+ cover save.

it's the stealth suits stealth field generator and they're a jet pack model so they can move around that gives them them the save for other its in the tau codex it is specific u just need a bit of common scence

also the page number is on the armour save page not quite shore wat page it is
if it is not then i appologise for it

maddosammo 17 Sep 2010 06:51

also buy the drones they have saved my back on several occasion

Antisocialnerd 18 Sep 2010 09:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by maddosammo (Post 1385279)
it's the stealth suits stealth field generator and they're a jet pack model so they can move around that gives them them the save for other its in the tau codex it is specific u just need a bit of common scence

also the page number is on the armour save page not quite shore wat page it is
if it is not then i appologise for it

well i guess i don't have that because i can't find any mention of stealth field generators on the armour save page and it's not specific in the codex either and you also seem to contradict yourself how does a stealth team do what i want to do and a sniper team ALSO equipped with a stealth field generator does not i know the stealth team is a jump pack model and can move (the snipers can move too just not shoot and move so if it's all about moving then snipers should be able to do it though since they can't shoot as well makes it a bit pointless and perhaps the reason noone seems to do it) thereby not giving away a cover save

what i want to know specifically is (A) does a unit equipped with a stealth field generator snipers or stealth suit confer a 4+ save to the unit behind it (the stealth suits seem to so why NOT the snipers) and (B) are broadsides able to see over snipers so they can shoot unobstructed like they can over kroot.

saying the stealth suits give a cover save and the snipers don't even though they have the same equipment that doesn't make any kind of sense.

even your statement doesn't seem to make much sense

"it's the stealth suit stealth field generator"

that does what give the stealth unit a save the unit behind it the save..what and the snipers have this too so anything it does for them surely it does for the snipers

"they're a jetpack model so they can move around that gives them the save"

what does this mean only units with a jetpack and field generator confer a save to units behind it how does the jetpack have any influence and what does it have to do with anything i'm asking please look at the questions i'm asking i know how the stealth suit crisis suit thing works assuming the stealth team successfully gives a cover save to the unit behind it and if it does why does the sniper team fail to do so.

"for others it's in the tau codex it's specific you just need a bit of common sense"

what others the sniper team and how is it specific i looked up stealth field generator the stealth suits and the sniper team the only thing i see is "the firing unit may however choose to ignore models equipped with stealth field generators and fire on a more distant target and in this case will not be required to to take a target priority test" if ignore means ignore as if they weren't there then they can't give a cover save stealth suits or sniper teams so how does the stealth team do it and the snipers cannot one being able to and the other not doesn't make sense are the guys doing it with stealth suits cheating?

maddosammo 18 Sep 2010 15:16

no the stealth suits can move out of the way of the broadsides so that the enemy does not gain the 4+ cover save from fireing through an friendly unit and then in the assault phase, because of the jet packs they can move bac into the L.O.S of the enemy and broadside so the broadside then gets the 4+ cover save though is not required as the broaside has a 2+ aarmour save.

Antisocialnerd 18 Sep 2010 15:43

That has nothing to do with what i'm asking since stealth suits do it can i assume that snipers will give a 4+ cover save to my broadsides then i'll check the TLOS on the snipers myself please read posts before you reply.

The Orange 18 Sep 2010 18:56

As far as I can tell yes you can use the sniperdrones/steath suits as an intervening unit and give other units behind them a 4+ cover save. However I'm not sure about how true LOS would be treated with braodsides. If your broadsides could shoot over the sniperdrones/stealth suits (and not give a 4+ cover save to the enemy) then I would assume most anyone can shoot over them to hit your broadsides, thus you'd get no cover save.

I'm going off of pg.22 of the rulebook, specifically "Firing through units or Area Terrain".

Personally though I consider it a pretty "jackass" tactic as your taking advantage of a loophole in the rules that only exist because it's an old codex not in line with the current rules system. If you don't care about being a jerk to your opponent and getting into rules arguments with them then by all means use it.

maddosammo 18 Sep 2010 19:13

i know being able to see over them is a bit of a shady subject to say the least.it's also not good to get into a argument of rules with your apponant as in the rule book thr first rule is to have fun


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366