Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!
Closed Thread
Old 25 Jul 2005, 23:45   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 125
Send a message via MSN to Dave
Default Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

I just played against my friend. His deamon's hunters were very hard for me tonight and we finally endend with a draw.

We played a 1 000 pts game. He used teleportation and send me 2 squads of 8 termies while his callidus send one team in their lof and assaulted my plasma-crisis team !!! All in turn one!

It was very very hard for me. He had only termies, his callidus and 2 x 6 troops.

I have to admit that it was the worste conditions for a tau army. What can i do to deal with so many teleported termies with the callidus paralizing my crisis suit?


Thanks for your help (i wish to have a list not only designed against him but versatile) ???
Dave is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 00:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Did he have an Inquisitor as well? He'd need that to legally take an Assassin.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 00:11   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 125
Send a message via MSN to Dave
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

good question ;D i think yes but i'm not sure because his general was a termi ... is it possible?
Dave is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 00:35   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Nope. That would be a Grey Knight Brother-Captain/Grand Master. Thus he was using an illegal list.

Even if it was legal, that's serious beard in a 1000pt army. Only think I can think of is to go full mech and don't let him have any units to deploy his Callidus inside. Then you swiftly destroy his regular infantry and keep moving while you slowly destroy his Deep Striking Terminators with Ion Cannon fire.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 00:41   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cumberland, MD USA
Posts: 440
Send a message via MSN to ShasOJeff
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

I agree, make sure everything is mobile, then run far away.
__________________
"I can get you some cookies for free."
ShasOJeff is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 02:33   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Posts: 284
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave
All in turn one!
Don't deep strikers have to come in on the second turn or later?
__________________
--

http://RyanCannon.com
RCanine is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 04:11   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 160
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCanine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave
All in turn one!
Don't deep strikers have to come in on the second turn or later?
Yup - both the Deep striking Termies AND the Callidus have to come in as reserves....

I get the feeling that you were hoodwinked a wee bit there...

I'm still trying to figure out where he got the points from...
16 Grey Knight Termies - even without special weapons - 766 Points...
(Brother Captain 61, 7 Termies @ 46 each= 383)
Callidus Assassin - 120

That's 886 points right there - not counting the Inquistor, and the troops units...

Actually - I will upgrade my state... I am almost POSITIVE you got hoodwinked....
The Termies could concievably started on the board - but then they would have to be in his deployment zone...

Dave Gaidasz
Keichi246 is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 09:54   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 125
Send a message via MSN to Dave
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Tank you all !!! ;D

Ok i see ... big mistake. Anayway i manage to end on a draw. But i'm going to tell him he could'nt do that. And we'll see next game ... >

Once again thanks all !!!
Dave is offline  
Old 26 Jul 2005, 10:58   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Callidus + Mass termies ... arrrgh !!!

Listen to Keichi246.. he has the reason

You definitely got man-handled there.

(A) 16 Terminators in 1,000 points. He has 16 Grey Knight Terminators ($175+)? Or were they power-armored Grey Knights that teleport?
(B) Callidus Assassin, but where is the Inquisitor? He has to have an Inquisitor to take this.
(C) One cannot assault after performing a deep strike. He could not have landed and assaulted you on a single turn.
(D) The Callidus could indeed appear and paralyze your suits (she does this well) but she won't arrive until at least turn 2.
(E) In fact, none of his units can arrive until at least turn 2; rolling reserves starting on a 4+.
(F) In general, having all 3 units coming in on the same turn is not generally going to happen, and he couldn't have done half the things you described legally.

Plus you describe he had grey knight troops, 6 of them in two units?

Minimally, we're looking at:

HQ - Bro'cap'n & 7 Terminators (383)
Elite - Bro'cap'n & 7 Terminators (383)
Elite - Callidus (120)
Troop - Justicar; Grey knights x 5 (175)
Troop - Justicar; Grey knights x 5 (175)

That's 1236 points.

Not to mention it's illegal. Plus, you know he took some wargear and some special weapons, so you can bump those points up another 100 probably just from that, if not more.

If he's your friend, he'll understand when you give him a good crack on the head. >
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Callidus vs characters echosen The Inquisition 3 01 Apr 2010 06:01
Callidus question? chicop76 The Inquisition 19 07 Jan 2009 04:31
Normal termies or GK termies? Warboss Robdog Space Marines 19 01 Oct 2008 21:31
Callidus and Tyranids Souchan 40K Universe 3 25 Aug 2007 10:27
H: Shooty Termies W: CC termies (lightning claws) Bladesuit Marketplace - Buy Sell Trade 0 17 Aug 2007 02:00