Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Need a fishy clarification
Closed Thread
Old 18 Jun 2005, 06:57   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Default Need a fishy clarification

Every tau and necron player seems to think that a skimmer can only be a hit on a roll of six in the assault phase. According to the rulebook, a skimmer always requires a 4+ because it counts as having moved 6". So a skimmer like ours would have to haved moved its full 12" to be at the 6+ to hit in the assault phase. I'm curious about if this has changed, because things like the necron faq say, "the monolith is a skimmer and therefore takes a six to hit it in an assault" Thoughts?
Lance is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 07:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

You are correct. They need to of moved at least 12" to get the 6+ to hit rule. They just always count as moving 6" (thus you need a 4+ to hit) even if they are stationary (not immobilised though).

They are probably still thinking about the 3rd edition rules.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 07:54   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

Guys, page 71 of the big rulebook. It's right there, explaining that all skimmers are hit on 6's.

Where did you two come up with 12 inches? That has nothing to do with any combat rule.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brother Edwin
Also note I have 6 lord level HQ's leading 10 scouts.
Join the arena, and succumb to the eternal lust!
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9054.0
ShadowDeth is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 07:58   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

Aha. I misread it. I missed 'more than' out of that sentance.

My apologises.

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 13:31   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 627
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

A skimmer only needs to be move MORE THAN 6" to be hit on a 6+. So you could move your HH or DF 6.00000001" technically. I advise against arguing that point to a rules lawyer...
__________________
ARMY STATS:
Tau: 24 Wins - 4 Ties - 2 Loss

I'm right behind you!

Never look back at what you have done. If you do you might not see the tree in front of you.
Sanctum is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 16:36   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

Grrr. Skimmers always count as moving over 6" when assaulted. Thus skimmers are always only hit on a 6, whether or not they actually moved that turn. Only when they are actually immobilized by enemy fire may they be hit on anything less.
khanaris is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 20:57   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

heh, people love making up their own rules.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brother Edwin
Also note I have 6 lord level HQ's leading 10 scouts.
Join the arena, and succumb to the eternal lust!
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9054.0
ShadowDeth is offline  
Old 18 Jun 2005, 21:00   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,232
Default Re: Need a fishy clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowDeth
heh, people love making up their own rules.
Indeed...However, Khanaris has the correct answer for this topic...Thanks for pointing that out for us! (You beat me too it!)
Shasel_Aunat is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishy Asked Questions: The completely unofficial FAQ Fish Ead House Rules 1 24 Aug 2009 12:54
Why Tau are fishy! danton tyr Tau 15 17 Jan 2009 14:06
Hmmm.... fishy lil gits! Nightmare General 40K 44 07 Dec 2006 06:41
Fishy paints a pirhana! Fish Ead Showcase 20 18 May 2006 20:04