Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Outflanking + me being silly
Reply
Old 23 Jun 2009, 16:07   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
gil galed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 113
Default Outflanking + me being silly

If i outflank my pathfinders and they hop out of the devilfish before it moves do they count as having moved thus stopping them firing their market lights or not?


I think i'm being extremely silly
__________________
~ Commander Sunstorm reporting for duty - http://forums.tauonline.org/tau-army...-farsight.html ~
gil galed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jun 2009, 16:13   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 647
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

Well, they Moved out of the Devilfish, didn't they? I think the rules cover it quite clearly.
__________________
Are you a Sheep, a Wolf, or a Hound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megavolt
They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Charistoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jun 2009, 16:22   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 104
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

Markerlight Drones and Skyfire Tanks are the only ones that I know of who can move and still light up a target in the same round.
NikoTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jun 2009, 16:23   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia-US
Posts: 554
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

I don't think you can even do that.* Before the Fish moves, it's off of the table.* The Pathfinders could choose to walk on, but then the Fish wouldn't gain Scout.*

I feel the need to clarify this, because a lot of people tend to misunderstand reserves.* When you bring in a unit from reserves, you don't set them on the table edge, then move your normal distance, you measure their move distance from the table edge, and they have to Move on the table.* ie, units arriving from reserve always have to move even if it's just an inch to get onto the board.

This is wrong
* * deploy* * * move
* * * * * * * * * * 0
* * * * * * * * * * [
* ** 0* ** * * ** [

This is right
move
* 0
* [*

The first method nets you an extra move distance equal to the length of the unit.* If you understood it the right way, then I'm sorry to bug you, I just find a lot of people making that mistake.
Darth_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jun 2009, 16:44   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

Quote:
Originally Posted by NikoTeen
Markerlight Drones and Skyfire Tanks are the only ones that I know of who can move and still light up a target in the same round.
Nope that is false.

By itself a markerdrone cannot move and fire his marker light, he needs to be attached to a suit to do so.

For the OP, Embarking and disembarking a transport takes place during the movement phase and is a movement thus they cannot fire their markerlight.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jun 2009, 17:08   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

It just isn't true in all cases. But a Marker Drone attached to Stealthsuits or Crisis Suits will have Relentless, as it will count as having a Jetpack. So effectively, that and the Skyray are the only Codex units that can move-and-fire with a Markerlight.

But no, there is no way to do it with Pathfinders.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jun 2009, 02:45   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

Stealth suits can move and fire with a markerlight.
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jun 2009, 03:50   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

What is the point of outflanking with markerlights? It's a 36" range weapon. If you put them in the middle of a 6x4 table in your deployment zone on the long side of the table then you would be able to hit all of the table except for the smallest table corners. Or if you wanna get better markerlight coverage then what you wanna do is take 2 smaller pathfinder teams and put them in a couple of different corners of the board. Then you'll be to cover even more of the table. If you can somehow get your pathfinders to the middle of the table then you'll actually literally be able to hit the entire table as long as you've got line of sight. If you're outflanking then odds are you're ending up closer to your enemy with your pathfinders... which I think goes without saying is a BAD thing!
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jun 2009, 04:03   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

In Ninja Tau Tactics the idea is to deliver an Outflanking Warfish, rather than the mushy/slow payload, but other than that... dunno
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jun 2009, 09:28   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 316
Default Re: Outflanking + me being silly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
What is the point of outflanking with markerlights? It's a 36" range weapon. If you put them in the middle of a 6x4 table in your deployment zone on the long side of the table then you would be able to hit all of the table except for the smallest table corners. Or if you wanna get better markerlight coverage then what you wanna do is take 2 smaller pathfinder teams and put them in a couple of different corners of the board. Then you'll be to cover even more of the table. If you can somehow get your pathfinders to the middle of the table then you'll actually literally be able to hit the entire table as long as you've got line of sight. If you're outflanking then odds are you're ending up closer to your enemy with your pathfinders... which I think goes without saying is a BAD thing!
The corners of the board are roughly 43" from the centre and 60" from the middle of the opponents edge. If you pathfinders were in the dead centre (yes, i realize in reality the squad would be able to spread itself out perhaps 3"-6" from the centre of the circle if they wished) they'd have about 90-95% of the board covered. In the middle of your edge of the board, they should have about 60% of the board covered. Most of the action wouldn't be taking place in the corners anyway though.
Shas O Behavva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outflanking HiveFleetGoliath General 40K 32 23 Jun 2010 07:17
Outflanking Warfish? Backfire Tau 16 09 May 2009 17:43
Outflanking & Reserves Anton General 40K 9 20 Jan 2009 22:42
Deffkoptas Outflanking Akaiyou Orks 2 20 Dec 2008 19:22
My silly, silly command squad Blastcage Space Marines Army Lists 8 30 Apr 2008 20:16