Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit
Reply
Old 27 May 2009, 20:12   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Do I lose an attack by adding the Twin Linked weapon on my battlesuit? What I mean is, if i can pick 3 weapons and fire all 3, then I take one twin linked, its says in the codex that counts as 2 weapons. When I fire now I only fire 2 weapons, one with rerolls to hit. Would it be better to have 3 weapons to attack with? Or would I have 2 sets of Twin linked pulse rifles that reroll to hit?
Kaiser Soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 20:17   #2 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

I hate to point this out but Crisis suits can only fire one weapon (or two if you upgrade their wargear). So you aren't going to have a case where you are firing three weapons anyway.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 20:17   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

To begin with, there are no circumstances that allow you to fire three weapons on a Battlesuit, even if you have purchased three weapons. The best you can hope for would be to fire two weapons by purchasing a Multi-Tracker (either as your third Battlesuit slot or by Hard-wiring it).

If, on the other hand, you take a single weapon and a twin-linked weapon then that would indeed take up all three of your Battlesuit slots (though you could only fire both with a Hard-wired Multi-Tracker).

Also, due to only having three Battlesuit slots, it's impossible to have 2 sets of twin-linked anything, since that would count as using up 4 slots. It might also be a good idea to bear in mind that Pulse Rifles are not a Battlesuit weapon option.
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 20:18   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 490
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

You can't take pulse rifles on a battlesuit. Did you mean plasma rifle?

You can only fire all of your weapons if you have a multitracker or hard-wired multitracker.

You can only have three 'slots' on a suit. 'Hard-wired' stuff doesn't take up a slot.

Double ninja'd...
__________________
Please help my demons level up
[url=http://heresy-online.net/daemons/adoptables/3972-bob9.htm][img]http://www.heresy-online.net/daemons
Turok117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 20:41   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Thanks, I don't actually play Tau, my friend does and we are starting to learn 40k at the same time. thats why I ddnt know which weapons it had. I felt bad because I get a lot of shots on my leader and he didnt seem to get as many. We are still working out the rules so I am sure he and I will be asking more stupid questions.
Kaiser Soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 20:55   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 7,449
Send a message via MSN to Circus Freak
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

What's your "leader"?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Restayvien
Well I'd rather not play the game at all than play it like they did! :P
Crikey! This crazy clown causes commotion like the coming of Christ. Contained in a circle corrupted by crackheads and carnal cravings, he creates no concession to callous cheaters concentrating on nought but cock. Certainly, still a curious and cordial cavalier in the countenance of crazed cads, curs and creeps who condemn courtesy as something corny. No cloud could collapse his crushing crescendo of comical crowing and crimson coiffure. This conjecture on culture comes circumlocutive, consequently...

You may call me Circus.
Circus Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2009, 21:01   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
You can't take pulse rifles on a battlesuit. Did you mean plasma rifle?

You can only fire all of your weapons if you have a multitracker or hard-wired multitracker.

You can only have three 'slots' on a suit. 'Hard-wired' stuff doesn't take up a slot.

Double ninja'd...
Actually you can not really fire all of your weapons with a Multi-tracker. You can fire two weapons. Either two single weapons or a single weapon and a Twin-Linked one. If you take 3 single weapons, you can never fire them all at once.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2009, 02:26   #8 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser Soze
Thanks, I don't actually play Tau, my friend does and we are starting to learn 40k at the same time. thats why I ddnt know which weapons it had. I felt bad because I get a lot of shots on my leader and he didnt seem to get as many. We are still working out the rules so I am sure he and I will be asking more stupid questions.
Not a problem, nobody starts out knowing all the rules.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2009, 12:05   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser Soze
Do I lose an attack by adding the Twin Linked weapon on my battlesuit? What I mean is, if i can pick 3 weapons and fire all 3, then I take one twin linked, its says in the codex that counts as 2 weapons. When I fire now I only fire 2 weapons, one with rerolls to hit. Would it be better to have 3 weapons to attack with? Or would I have 2 sets of Twin linked pulse rifles that reroll to hit?
No you do not lose an attack.

If you put three weapons you can only shoot 1 at the time, 2 if you have a multitracker.

If yuou put a twinlink weapon plus another weapon system, you can either shoot the TL weapon or the single weapon unless you have a hardwired multitracker, whence you can shoot both the TL weapon and the single weapon -since it is technically 2 weapon system.


Edit:
Since you can only have 3 hard points, you cannot have 2 set of TL weapon since this would take up 4 hardpoints (a broadside can do that though).
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2009, 13:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 490
Default Re: Twin Linked Pulse Rifle on Battlesuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watchdog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
You can't take pulse rifles on a battlesuit. Did you mean plasma rifle?

You can only fire all of your weapons if you have a multitracker or hard-wired multitracker.

You can only have three 'slots' on a suit. 'Hard-wired' stuff doesn't take up a slot.

Double ninja'd...
Actually you can not really fire all of your weapons with a Multi-tracker. You can fire two weapons. Either two single weapons or a single weapon and a Twin-Linked one. If you take 3 single weapons, you can never fire them all at once.
Ah, thanks - didn't know that.
__________________
Please help my demons level up
[url=http://heresy-online.net/daemons/adoptables/3972-bob9.htm][img]http://www.heresy-online.net/daemons
Turok117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The fire warrior- Pulse rifle or Pulse carbine? (With Dfish) scar face Tau 17 17 Aug 2008 07:47
Pulse Rifle and Pulse Carbine Combinations PenguinRunner Tau 37 27 Sep 2007 05:17
Twin-Linked & Fire-Linked weapons Ravager House Rules 14 27 Mar 2007 05:38
Twin Linked? SpacePuppy General 40K 22 11 Feb 2007 03:51
Pulse Rifle or Pulse Carbine?? heaven Tau 26 09 Dec 2004 18:27