Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Marker Light rules
Reply
Old 30 Apr 2009, 14:55   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to BKZer0
Default Question about Marker Light rules

Hi.

I have never used Marker Lights in an army before, and I am considering giving my army a sprinkling of them, but I don't 100% understand the way they work.

My first question would be:
Does the model using the Marker Light forfeit their shooting phase that turn? or can the same model that uses the Marker Light still shoot it's weapon?

for example if I am down to just my Shas'ui with a Marker Light, and Pulse Rifle, can I mark the target and then get a +1BS with the same model?

and Question two:
do marker lights persist through turns, or are unused counters removed at the end of the turn? It's a pretty obvious answer, but I have to ask to be 100% sure.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
[WIP] D&D Game models (Last Upate: 6/22/2010)
[WIP] Desert Themed Tau Army (Last Upate: 3/4/2010)
Modeling Marker Lights
Desert Base Tutorial
BKZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 15:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,232
Send a message via MSN to Hadhfang
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

Firstly, A marker light cannot be used by the same unit firing it unless it's a networked markerlight. So your Shas'ui wouldn't be able to use its own Markerlight anyway.

Also, Markerlights are classed as a weapon, so the only way you could fire it and another weapon is if the model itself is allowed to fire more than one weapon (via a multi-tracker for example)

And they are all removed at the end of the Tau Shooting phase.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaifrog
Hooray! We've corrupted Hadhfang ;D
Hadhfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 15:06   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

For your first question has Hadhfang said, it's either the markerlight or the pulse weapon. only the shas'ui can use both if he is equiped with a HW multi-traker...which allow to fire 2 wepaon system.

The problem is the unit from which the markerlight is fired cannot benefit from it. The only exception is if it is a networked markerlight (found in only 3 units), in which case the firing unit can use it.

As for the second question: Yes, unused marker token are removed at the end of your shooting phase.

__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 16:58   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to BKZer0
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

Ok, so my Shas'ui can fire the Marker Light, and one of his 11 Shas'la squad mates can use the counter.

Something like a Sky Ray with networked Marker Lights can benefit from its own light.

Is that correct?
__________________
[WIP] D&D Game models (Last Upate: 6/22/2010)
[WIP] Desert Themed Tau Army (Last Upate: 3/4/2010)
Modeling Marker Lights
Desert Base Tutorial
BKZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:01   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 102
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKZer0
Ok, so my Shas'ui can fire the Marker Light, and one of his 11 Shas'la squad mates can use the counter.


Is that correct?
Incorrect. That squad from which the marker hit came cannot benefit from that marker hit. Since it is not a networked markerlight.
mattv2099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:03   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKZer0
Ok, so my Shas'ui can fire the Marker Light, and one of his 11 Shas'la squad mates can use the counter.
No, because the Shas'la is part of the same unit as the Shas'ui. It would have to be used by a different team/unit thus why people usually give the shas'ui a hW target lock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKZer0
Something like a Sky Ray with networked Marker Lights can benefit from its own light.
Yes, the Skyray can benefit from it's own markerlight, because it is networked.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:04   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to BKZer0
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

so can the rest of the squad shoot at all? or one guy shoots a light, and the whole squad is tapped?
__________________
[WIP] D&D Game models (Last Upate: 6/22/2010)
[WIP] Desert Themed Tau Army (Last Upate: 3/4/2010)
Modeling Marker Lights
Desert Base Tutorial
BKZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:05   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKZer0
so can the rest of the squad shoot at all? or one guy shoots a light, and the whole squad is tapped?
The Shas'ui cannot use his pulse rifle if he use the markerlight -unless he has a multitracker- but the rest of the unit can fire their pulse weapon without any problem.

However if but 1 Fire wariror in the unit move, the whole unit counts has having moved so you cannot use the markerlight.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:07   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

The whole squad can still shoot. Just at the same target as the Markerlight unless the Shas ui has a target lock.
Ich Meh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Apr 2009, 17:18   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,232
Send a message via MSN to Hadhfang
Default Re: Question about Marker Light rules

So to summarise this thread for you:

Markerlights come in both normal and Networked. Networked markerlights (Available on marker drones, Skyray and FW battlesuits) can be used by the same unit. They fire first followed by that unit.

Normal markerlights (Available to Pathfinders and Firewarrior team leaders/Shas'ui) Can only be used by other units.

A Markerlight is a heavy weapon. It functions like a weapon in all respects. So if a Shas'ui fires it at a unit the rest of the squad can also fire but have to fire at the same unit. The Shas'Ui cannot then fire their rifle/carbine.

HOWEVER If the Shas'ui has a hard wired multi tracker, they are then allowed to fire their rifle/carbine as well, but at the same unit.

If they have a hard wired Target Lock they can fire their marker light at a different unit to the one its squad is firing at.

And if the Shas'ui has both then they can fire both weapons at a different unit to the squad they are firing at.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaifrog
Hooray! We've corrupted Hadhfang ;D
Hadhfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
marker light tecke Tau 3 02 Sep 2010 02:49
marker light question baskotoiea Tau 2 20 Jan 2009 12:05
What do Marker light designators do? master_pb Tau 3 15 Nov 2008 06:15
I like the Marker Light. Daemonette Embrace General 40K 7 13 Jul 2008 11:47
Marker Light Question Requisition Tau 15 04 Sep 2007 23:08