Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online


Warhammer 40K Forum

Drones and penetrating hits
Closed Thread
Old 06 Jun 2005, 03:31   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 170
Default Drones and penetrating hits

The Tau codex states that Drones are counted as passengers on a devilfish.

The penetrating hits rule states that if a p.hit is scored against a vehicle, passengers must disembark.

Does this then mean that if my fish has a penetrating hit scored against it, the drones dismount?

It seems fairly simple, but i just couldn't quite believe it when i read it last night. Now i'm wondering what the implications might be, as enemies might be able to now force the drones off the fish and kill them off. It may only be 2 extra shots, but still, pinning ability and all that.


Favourite Bands: Ayreon, Dream Theater, Symphony X, Blind Guardian, Spock's Beard, Rhapsody, Sonata Arctica, Porcupine Tree, Phish.
SynapsyS is offline  
Old 06 Jun 2005, 03:34   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Drones and penetrating hits

Heh, it's a grey area that GW seemingly never ruled on.

To follow the letter of the rule though, yes they do pop off and cannot actually re-embark when they do. I believe this was discussed a few weeks ago in another thread.

Originally Posted by Brother Edwin
Also note I have 6 lord level HQ's leading 10 scouts.
Join the arena, and succumb to the eternal lust!
ShadowDeth is offline  
Old 06 Jun 2005, 03:55   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Drones and penetrating hits

ShadowDeth has the word on that.

Unfortunately, the text states that drones count as passengers if the devilfish is damaged. And 4th edition works as you said, disembarking passengers on a penetrating hit. And then we have that fun rule of not being able to get back onto the devilfish afterwards. It's a bogus mix of rules, but until a FAQ or the 3.5 codex update is done, we're all just in a bind when it happens.

Fortunately, the only time this really should come into the context of your game, is on turn 1. All other turns, as long as your Fish moves 6+ inches (which is should always be doing anyways) means it's only ever glanceable and that keeps you from taking penetrating hits ever--so no problem with the drones. But that first turn, if you weren't moving and you're not obscured to a glance, then a penetrating hit is possible and it is a mess when the drones pop off.

And the two threads that Shadow was referring to are:


[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
markerlight hits and drones? Tausand sun Tau 13 06 Mar 2009 03:59
drones and penatrateing hits wartang Tau 4 01 Dec 2007 23:00
Penetrating hits against fast moving skimmers Tom Norman General 40K 14 29 May 2006 17:33
whoa, now it hits me chrissi3 40K Creations 2 04 Mar 2006 17:04