Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Regarding drones and deployment
Reply
Old 20 Mar 2009, 05:59   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default Regarding drones and deployment

Hello everyone!

I just have a quick question. I have a 100 point Shas'El commander without drones and two Devilfish transports in reserves. Can I choose to deploy just their drones (from one of them) at the beginning of the battle and have them join the commander? I mean, you can separate passengers and transports in deployment, but can you do this?

Cheers!
LtCariad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 06:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 674
Send a message via AIM to Wild
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

The Drones are starting equipment on Devilfish, so during deployment you wouldn't be allowed such a move. However during the first turn and onwards it is perfectly legit.
__________________
Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 06:31   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 647
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

Short Answer: Nope.

Long Answer:

1) Gun Drones are part of the vehicle until the vehicle is deployed.

2) Devilfish Drones, once deployed, can't join another unit.

3) Once they've deployed, a Commander CAN join the unit of 2 Gun Drones.
__________________
Are you a Sheep, a Wolf, or a Hound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megavolt
They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Charistoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 06:53   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

That is pretty much what I thought, but I was grasping at straws So I would have to deploy my Devilfish from the beginning to be able to join my commander to the drones at the start of battle.

Thanks for your input.
LtCariad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 08:17   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

Hi...

Twisting the question alittle:

Can units, such as the detached Devilfish drones, that never count as scoring units contest an objective?

Tassadar
Tassadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 09:15   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium, Burcht
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to Pisces_808
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tassadar
Hi...

Twisting the question alittle:

Can units, such as the detached Devilfish drones, that never count as scoring units contest an objective?

Tassadar
Yes it can, all units can contest. That's why its fun to drop 2 Piranha's on the enemy objective (2 diffrent squads). They now have to kill the 2 tanks and when done with that they have to kill the drones. So that's 4 squads to kill, sure it can be done but its more likely that you'll be able to contest 1 or 2 turns.

Greetz
__________________

Pisces_808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 12:08   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

To make it more clear for you Tassadar, in the codex it says that once gun drones have disembarked their vehicle they become a separate unit. So therefore you may contest an objective with them.
silix_tau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 15:49   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 647
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tassadar
Hi...

Twisting the question alittle:

Can units, such as the detached Devilfish drones, that never count as scoring units contest an objective?

Tassadar
Interesting point I thought of. Would Gun Drones disembarked from a Fire Warrior 'Fish count as Scoring, after all, they are part of a Troops Slot and not be vehicles...
__________________
Are you a Sheep, a Wolf, or a Hound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megavolt
They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Charistoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 15:54   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tassadar
Can units, such as the detached Devilfish drones, that never count as scoring units contest an objective?
Yes.

Anything, scoring or otherwise, can contest objective. GW was pretty clear on this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charistoph
Interesting point I thought of. Would Gun Drones disembarked from a Fire Warrior 'Fish count as Scoring, after all, they are part of a Troops Slot and not be vehicles...
Where in God's name did you get that?? Drones never were Troop. they always were and are Wargear or Fast attack choice.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 16:54   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Regarding drones and deployment

they can't deploy seperately but they can disembark 1st turn.
The Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
deployment henbobbleb Chaos Daemons 2 09 Sep 2009 11:44
Hidden deployment Knight Actual General 40K 7 02 Jul 2008 19:10
Deployment from a Manta kurtisxxxv Tau 9 26 Mar 2007 21:01
Deployment.... SMRCommander General 40K 3 31 Aug 2006 15:00
deployment frankthetank Tau 17 15 Jun 2005 17:11