Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Quick and pointless question...
Reply
Old 16 Mar 2009, 22:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England
Posts: 187
Default Quick and pointless question...

I'm so sorry, this is gonna make me sound silly.

But I got a little confused when looking at upgrading my commander, well suits too tbh.

its about this Twin-linkediness, do you HAVE to take twin linked if you take two of the same wep or can I have 2 plasmas that fire seperatly? E.g I'd rather fire 2 plasmas with Bs 5 than have a re-roll Bs 5 single shot.

Sorry and Thanks
ZoDan.!
x x x
__________________
DJVodrey
ZoDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2009, 22:46   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhereshire
Posts: 6,214
Send a message via MSN to Ravager
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

This has been asked so many times due to some slightly unclear wording in the Codex.

If you take two of the same kind of weapon they always count as twin-linked, and as such, may not be fired separately.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
"Drop the shovel, and stand back from the keyboard!"


We have done the impossible... and that makes us mighty.
Firefly is pretty much made of Awesome, Funny, and Aww. Sometimes simultaneously. We'd better stop before we quote the entire script.
–tvtropes.org
Ravager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2009, 22:59   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: HelHeim
Posts: 652
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Yeah Its always twin Linked if its 2 weapons that are the same are attached to the commander mate
__________________
With The People For The People! And when I say people I mean Me! :P
minor tau marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 13:53   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcius Fisher (Zechs)
Yeah Its always twin Linked if its 2 weapons that are the same are attached to the commander mate
Actually, any XV-8 and XV-88 suit really, not just the commander. The only exception to this rule is Cmdr Shadowsun who has dual/twin fusion blaster.

__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 17:54   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: HelHeim
Posts: 652
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcius Fisher (Zechs)
Yeah Its always twin Linked if its 2 weapons that are the same are attached to the commander mate
Actually, any XV-8 and XV-88 suit really, not just the commander. The only exception to this rule is Cmdr Shadowsun who has dual/twin fusion blaster.
Yeah cept for that
__________________
With The People For The People! And when I say people I mean Me! :P
minor tau marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 18:10   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 490
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

I think that if you have a multitracker, you should be able to fire them independently.
__________________
Please help my demons level up
[url=http://heresy-online.net/daemons/adoptables/3972-bob9.htm][img]http://www.heresy-online.net/daemons
Turok117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 18:13   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
I think that if you have a multitracker, you should be able to fire them independently.
Yeah, that would be nice. But under current ruleset it is not the case.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 19:22   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
I think that if you have a multitracker, you should be able to fire them independently.
Nope, since they are a single weapon for firing purpose (but 2 for hardpoint purpose).
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 20:46   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 647
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
I think that if you have a multitracker, you should be able to fire them independently.
Nope, since they are a single weapon for firing purpose (but 2 for hardpoint purpose).
I think Turok meant he wanted them to have that capability, not that they currently do.

Which I'd have to agree with that sentiment.

As to the OP, you can only take one choice once per Suit, so you can't order two weapons seperately.
__________________
Are you a Sheep, a Wolf, or a Hound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megavolt
They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Charistoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2009, 21:54   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Quick and pointless question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charistoph
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turok117
I think that if you have a multitracker, you should be able to fire them independently.
Nope, since they are a single weapon for firing purpose (but 2 for hardpoint purpose).
I think Turok meant he wanted them to have that capability, not that they currently do.

Which I'd have to agree with that sentiment.

As to the OP, you can only take one choice once per Suit, so you can't order two weapons seperately.
And I was replying to his intent...what he propose would defy the purpose of twin-linking a weapon. And, I didn't do the math, but I'm pretty sure two of the same weapons end up with a slightly lower hit/kill ratio then 1 twin-link weapon.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question quick answer, rapid fire plasma? Ekiel Space Marines 5 31 Oct 2009 19:45
Dwarf's and some pointless Blogging Mr.Tau The Warhammer World 2 07 May 2007 18:26
A pointless post. insignificant other Tau 3 19 Mar 2007 14:39
Pointless (and hopefully humorous) observations about Tau. l33t_m0nk3y Tau 12 07 Dec 2005 04:47