Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray
Reply
Old 09 Mar 2009, 18:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to xShaperx
Default Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

This came up in my last game, my Skyray (which I will never use again...) got a weapon destroyed result. My friend Steve asked what weapon he could take, I said he had the option of a Burst Cannon, a Networked Markerlight, or a Seeker missile. He said that he should be able to destroy both Burst Cannons or both Markerlights. We 4+'d it since I didnt really know.

Is that how it works? You destroy both? I wouldn't think so because I can't destroy BOTH sponsons on a Predator or something, but who knows.

OH! One more question before I forget. Do our vehicles get a 4+ against shooting if we move 12"?
__________________
I love the smell of promethium in the morning

Shas'ui Kel'shan Mont'au Mal'caor: The Terror Spider of Kel'shan

www.myspace.com/nathanhotdog
xShaperx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 18:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to MDRedeemer Send a message via MSN to MDRedeemer
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

I don't think they can both be taken out with a single result. They can shoot independently and each have their own distinct shots. So I would say he was being a bit of a prick in that regard, and with 1 result you can only knock out 1 weapon each time.

As for vehicles moving for the save, I think so. I just never move that often just to get the save, as I have disruption pods.
__________________
Helios, removing anger from the galaxy one terminator at a time.
MDRedeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 18:40   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: netherlands bennekom
Posts: 619
Send a message via MSN to bloodfire
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

As MDRedeemer said 1 result 1 weapon.

As for the save no you don't get it since you need to be moving flat out which tau skimmers (with the exception of the piranha) can't do. Also if I remember correctly you need to move at least 18" for the flat out save.
__________________
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
But Isn't it funny to think that guard might be able to copy eldar tactics slightly?
You mean "Perform Eldar tactics better than Eldar", right? :P
Not unless the Eldar have an obscure Warrior Aspect that revolves around the complete mastery of the common light bulb.
Infected by Skaven
bloodfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 18:43   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

I don't think that you can take out both guns in one shot since they fire indipendantly and are treated as seperate guns.

Also, if you look at it from a real world perspective, it doesn't really work - if some kind of missile/shot hits one gun its only going to destroy that one, not bounce off and hit the other one as well.

Not too sure about the save though, must look it up in my rule book...
Elthron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:42   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

No for the weapons. It is listed as a pair, nothing singular about it... Which means your opponent may take one weapon.
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:45   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

Exactly.

a skyray got 4 or 5 weapon system:

SMS, 2 markerlight, seekers or;
2 burst cannon, 2 markerlight, seekers or;
2 gub drones, 2 markerlight, seekers or.

So he need 4 or 5 weapon destroy depending on the configuration to completely unarm it.

The only iffy one IMO are the seekers, are they destroyed collectively (all 6 together) or individually???
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:49   #7 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

The Seekers are not considered one weapon system. Each seeker is it's own "weapon", so it's one seeker destroyed for each weapon destroyed result.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:50   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox
The Seekers are not considered one weapon system. Each seeker is it's own "weapon", so it's one seeker destroyed for each weapon destroyed result.
Nox is correct.

Though usually some seekers will be fired before you get 4-5 weapon destroyed hits.
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:52   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

Fair enough.

And if your opponent is smart, he destroy both markerlight first...reducing your ability to use your seekers...or completely removing it, if there are no other markerlight in your army.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Mar 2009, 19:54   #10 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Weapon Destroyed vs Skyray

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
Fair enough.

And if your opponent is smart, he destroy both markerlight first...reducing your ability to use your seekers...or completely removing it, if there are no ther markerlight in your army.
Yep, a smart (and lucky) opponent could actually leave you with a full rack of Seekers and no way to fire them!
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random weapon destroyed result pulse-carbine House Rules 4 16 May 2009 16:37
Deff Rolla and Weapon Destroyed Zen Orks 22 31 Mar 2009 17:22
n00b questions: flechette dischargers, weapon destroyed results, etc. Raidarc Tau 8 11 Mar 2009 21:46
Rules querie: weapon destroyed result shaso_montyr General 40K 6 22 Apr 2007 18:54
Destroyed Drone. Krimxon Terrain 18 18 Mar 2006 11:26