Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Reserves and Deep Strike questions
Old 04 Mar 2009, 18:34   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Reserves and Deep Strike questions

So I am still pretty new to WH40k, and have yet to play a game with Reserves/Deep Strike. So I thought I would poll all of you and ask about general Tau strategies and tactics when it comes to Reserves and Deep Strike. Obviously a fair amount of Tau units can DS, but given the mobility, is it worth it to not have them potentially for a few turns?

What are your thoughts and opinions? Are there any common mistakes to avoid or things I should be thinking of ahead of time?

Thanks!
Grorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Mar 2009, 18:49   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: Reserves and Deep Strike questions

I would look up any tactics that involve ninja tau since that is a army based off of reserving or deepstriking pretty much your whole army. Even if you don't go that way with your army you can learn a few tricks.
Old 04 Mar 2009, 18:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

Hi. I think that for small gaming boards it is not worth deep striking but on a larger one you could start with one crisis suit team at the front of the army and two deepstriking either just behind or just in front. Do not try to deep strike too close to a enemy unit because you can lose your precious suits all too easily.

One other tactic is to use doom frisbees. Gun drones that deep strike behind enemy tanks destroying them by shooting on mass. It can be a very effective distraction method as other units of yours creep closer.
Old 04 Mar 2009, 19:39   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal