Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

To save or not to save...
Reply
Old 04 Mar 2009, 10:35   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default To save or not to save...

Hello everyone!

Just felt I had to ask this question, which has been bothering me a while. When you face the situation of having two saves, i.e. an armour save and an invulnerable save or armour save and cover save, you can choose which one to use. Usually you would go with the better, right? Well, let's say I have a small unit of FWs that stand in a position to be charged and the enemy fires some bolters at them before charging. The FWs are not in cover. Say I want them to be wiped out so as not to give the enemy unit an extra movement (charge + consolidation), can I then:

a/ choose not to take a save at all? Just choose to take the wounds straight off? (I don't think so)
b/ go to ground and use the 6+ cover save instead of 4+ armour save? (which is almost like choosing not to save)

What is your thoughts on this situation?
LtCariad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Mar 2009, 12:25   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: To save or not to save...

IIRC If a situation warrant a save, you must take it. So your option A is not alllowed...again IIRC.

B could be an option because in a case like that you have a choice, and nothing to my knowledge state you must take the best of both saves.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Mar 2009, 13:57   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: US - Minnesota
Posts: 111
Default Re: To save or not to save...

This seems rather gray. The first section about saves says that a after wounds are assigned a player "can" take armour saves. It does not say "must" but usual when things are optional it says may. If you do make a save though the section on multiple saves states "but it has the advantage of always taking the best save". Again this isn't entirely clear because of context and "best" isn't exactly defined. Anyways my position would be that you must always take your armour or invulnerable, but you could choose not to use cover (looking at this from a purely "makes sense in the real world" direction).
__________________
It's not what you know,
It's what other people think you know.
Just hope you don't get quizzed on it.
Ironclaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Mar 2009, 15:46   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default Re: To save or not to save...

I know it is a bit gray, and I don't propose this as anything you should do, but I just came to think of it, since "in the world of RAW" people do think of odd things sometimes

As far as I can see, you could actually make a case for that you don't have to take a saving throw if you don't want to. I never actually thought that would be possible. Well, well. In that case you don't even have to "go to ground" in order to get a save to choose from.

I will read my rulebook when I get home tonight. Will be back on this subject after a nights sleep and some reading and pondering.

Cheers!
LtCariad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2009, 03:01   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: To save or not to save...

well if your fire warriors are being shot at by bolters they cant be assulted aswell cause there rapid ire weapons meaning they cant assult and plus fire warriors have a +4 save and bolters have an AP of 4 soo instant death there for so you dont have to worry about saves my friend =)
Yevrah23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2009, 03:18   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 674
Send a message via AIM to Wild
Default Re: To save or not to save...

Bolters are AP 5. You're thinking of the Kraken Sternguard Ammo.
__________________
Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2009, 07:44   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default Re: To save or not to save...

I wrote bolters, but I meant boltpistols. Sorry! But you get what I'm talking about.
LtCariad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Save is better? Fate13 General 40K 20 22 Nov 2009 16:04
Invulnerable save Deathwing Dude General 40K 7 06 Apr 2009 23:43
Save the net! Bugga62 Serious Debate and Discussion 58 25 Jun 2008 21:23
I'm here to Save the Day! Chton Enclave Talk 6 18 Mar 2008 23:19
*1 save? Neowolf3 Tau 10 27 Mar 2006 22:29