Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Enclave Army Question (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/65360-enclave-army-question.html)

KrakenBlue 25 Feb 2009 21:33

Enclave Army Question
 
One of the perks of an army that includes Farsight is that you are supposed to get free bonding knives. It says that any model that has access to the armory receives a free bonding knife. Does this mean that to get one of these free bonding knives in a squad of fire warriors, you need a shas'ui? Technically emp and photon grenades are armory items and you don't need a shas'ui to access them.

Boneguard 25 Feb 2009 22:41

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
Yes, since only the shas'ui have access to it.

Jedibean 26 Feb 2009 00:38

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
RULES LAWYER!! haha... but seriously, you do need a shas'ui to get the free bonding knife since only a shas'ui can take a bonding knife.

pepsi 26 Feb 2009 00:43

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
hmm guess tau arent as brotherly as they could be, why is it only one person can bring them together ;D <whistles innocently>

greater good my arse

leatherback 26 Feb 2009 00:50

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
Quote:

RULES LAWYER!! haha... but seriously, you do need a shas'ui to get the free bonding knife since only a shas'ui can take a bonding knife.
I disagree. It explicitly states that every model in the army gets a free bonding knife. This leads me to believe that all the models are considered bonded, even if they lack an 'ui.

knightperson 26 Feb 2009 00:57

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by leatherback
Quote:

RULES LAWYER!! haha... but seriously, you do need a shas'ui to get the free bonding knife since only a shas'ui can take a bonding knife.
I disagree. It explicitly states that every model in the army gets a free bonding knife. This leads me to believe that all the models are considered bonded, even if they lack an 'ui.

Read it more closely. It says every infantry model with access to the armory (wargear) gets the bonding knife. That's just squad-leaders, the ethereal, commanders, and technically their bodyguards. I've never seen it happen, but I suppose in a Farsight list, if Farsight himself fell and so did half of his bodyguards, and they fell back, they would be able to regroup as long as there was a single shas'vre standing.

Keep in mind, though, that this is from a 4th edition codex where you could guarantee (except for Torrent of Fire rules) that the guy with the knife was the last one standing. You can no longer come close to guaranteeing that.

Tausand sun 26 Feb 2009 01:39

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pepsi
hmm guess tau arent as brotherly as they could be, why is it only one person can bring them together ;D <whistles innocently>

greater good my D'yi

*coughredsoviettyrantdictatorscough* or something like that.

KrakenBlue 26 Feb 2009 16:26

Re: Enclave Army Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by knightperson
Quote:

Originally Posted by leatherback
Quote:

RULES LAWYER!! haha... but seriously, you do need a shas'ui to get the free bonding knife since only a shas'ui can take a bonding knife.
I disagree. It explicitly states that every model in the army gets a free bonding knife. This leads me to believe that all the models are considered bonded, even if they lack an 'ui.

Read it more closely. It says every infantry model with access to the armory (wargear) gets the bonding knife. That's just squad-leaders, the ethereal, commanders, and technically their bodyguards. I've never seen it happen, but I suppose in a Farsight list, if Farsight himself fell and so did half of his bodyguards, and they fell back, they would be able to regroup as long as there was a single shas'vre standing.

Keep in mind, though, that this is from a 4th edition codex where you could guarantee (except for Torrent of Fire rules) that the guy with the knife was the last one standing. You can no longer come close to guaranteeing that.

Yes it does say this. Emp and photon grenades are armory items and you don't need a leader to put those on your models. It states it as if it were on a model by model basis. I would tend to think that if anything has the ability to take any kind of upgrade from the armory, then they would get the bonding knife.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92