Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

A new Tau player needs advice (on landing gear, battlesuits and more :))
Old 25 Feb 2009, 07:50   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default A new Tau player needs advice (on landing gear, battlesuits and more :))

Greetings!
I came to this vault of Tau knowledge searching for your advice, venerable Commanders...

I'm starting a Tau army from scratch, and before I put together my first models, I really need to get a better understanding of some basics. Please note that I'm completely new to the Tau, but have some decent experience in 40k (been playing since the very beginning of 4th edition).
I did look through articles and couldn't find all answers in them, but I certainly might have missed something. So if you know an article or a thread that deals with some of my questions, I'd be grateful if you drop me a link. Now, on to the questions...

1. Landing Gear.
My question is simple: is there any practical reason to model landing gear on Tau vehicles in 5th? I'm asking because I really hate the way they look (imho they ruin the whole "sleek" feeling of a skimmer model). Besides, if you use a flying stand with the shortest standard stem, the tank will sit barely a few millimetres higher than when standing on its landing gear - so no real cover benefits here either. But maybe I'm missing something?

2. Crisis Suits