Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Close combat question
Closed Thread
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:26   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Default Close combat question

Ok, this past Sunday I played my friends Space Marines. He assulted my Kroot with his Dreadnaught and killed enough to require a leadership test, which they failed. When they fell back, they did so through the Dreadnaught which then cause his back to be facing them, at which point I rapid fired at him.

The question. Since the Dreadnaught has the rule where he always faces front to attacks, does that only apply in close combat? Not in shooting? So if that is the case, I would be able to fire at the back of the Dreadnaught because close combat was broken right?
Thanks in advance.
NegativeNad is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:41   #2 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Close combat question

When fighting against Walkers in Close Combat, you always hit their Front AV. This the True part. Otherwise, if you manage to get around it and fire at it's Rear AV with your Range Weapons, then you hit it's Rear AV, not the Front AV. But did he made his Consolidation Move to face your Kroots with it's Front AV?
Zen is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:44   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Close combat question

I'm not sure...I don't have my rule book with me...can you generally explain Consolidation Move?
NegativeNad is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:48   #4 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Close combat question

Quote:
Originally Posted by NegativeNad
I'm not sure...I don't have my rule book with me...can you generally explain Consolidation Move?
After he wins Close Combat, he can move up to D6". But unless he faces his Front or at least side AV to your Kroots, you will be hitting his Rear AV with your guns. Which AV side did he faced to your Kroots?
Zen is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:52   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Close combat question

Ok, he did not move. Did he win the close combat because I fell back? He did not move, so his rear was facing my Kroot, that's why I got to shoot at it, and why we got into the argument haha
NegativeNad is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:56   #6 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Close combat question

Quote:
Originally Posted by NegativeNad
Ok, he did not move. Did he win the close combat because I fell back? He did not move, so his rear was facing my Kroot, that's why I got to shoot at it, and why we got into the argument haha
So, yes. Since he did not move his Dreadnought at all and you were falling back through the Dreadnought, you are able to shoot it's Rear AV.
Zen is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 01:57   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Close combat question

Thank you so much! You are the man!
NegativeNad is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 02:02   #8 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Close combat question

Quote:
Originally Posted by NegativeNad
Thank you so much! You are the man!
No problem
Zen is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 04:50   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Close combat question

Wow... that was not a smart move on your opponents part. He gets a D6" move after he wins close combat. Even if he doesn't choose to move then the least he could do is leave the front armor facing your kroot so that he doesn't get shot up. Crazy...
Jedibean is offline  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 06:39   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Close combat question

Maybe there was something worse aiming at the opposite facing, such as a Railgun?
__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Close combat rules question Swordwind General 40K 4 01 Oct 2007 17:46
Ethereal close combat question Diavolos1981 Tau 8 01 May 2007 07:43
Question on close combat. Durza Space Marines 7 24 Jan 2007 06:23
Rules question regarding shooting into close combat Aunshasta General 40K 11 21 Jun 2006 23:50
Close Combat Lock Question Black Behemoth General 40K 15 17 Dec 2005 08:34