Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Shooting "through" skimmers?
Reply
Old 22 Feb 2009, 05:52   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 80
Default Shooting "through" skimmers?

I seem to have read about some Tau strategies that involve unloading fire warriors from a skimmer and then being able to shoot "through" it at enemies (basically, ignoring its effects on L.O.S. and cover). Is this true? I can't find its rules anywhere in the rule book for skimmers or Devilfish. It sort of makes sense as a "real world" mechanic if the skimmer is hovering high enough off the ground, but I don't see anywhere that says your units can ignore it for firing purposes without giving the enemy cover or without occluding line of sight. Help?
Grorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 06:00   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 347
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

This use to be true in 3rd and 4th edition when units and shoot through/under skimmers but in 5th skimmers block LOS. The tactic use to be called Fish of Fury, very effective at mowing infantry down and not being assaulted but at last it is no more in 5th edition.
MentosMkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 06:48   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

If you use a high enough flying base, your Fire Warriors can shoot under the Skimmer, which however gives 4+ Cover Save to both sides.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 06:51   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 93
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

is it possible to manipulate the rules to allow fish of fury?
miniaturerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 07:15   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

It is not manipulating the rules at all. True Line of Sight allows it. The rules do not say what height of flying base are you allowed to use. I use the middle height (supplied with the Skimmers), so that my troops see under it, while it still gives them cover with the landing gear, engines, etc...

Your Skimmer has then problems getting Cover Saves from terrain, but with Disruption Pods, that is not that much of a problem.

What is a problem is, that vehicles always get assaulted against their rear armour. AV 10 is not enough to be safe.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 07:50   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 93
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

oh yay

because i don't actually have a devilfish how high is medium?
miniaturerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 08:06   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

Together with the large flying base pie the middle length is 1" and 3/8" high up to the belly of the Fish. You could also say that it is exactly up to the top end of Pathfinder Shas'Ui's helmet anthenna, if that helps.

Check this:

__________________
For the Greater Good!
Hunter Cadre Lar'Shi'el

Watchdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 08:09   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 93
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

thanks

it can get cover behind ruins i think
miniaturerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Feb 2009, 16:38   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: Shooting "through" skimmers?

I would say youíre better off pulling off a modified FoF. In this case, you use FWs with carbines, and you deploy them out of a side hatch. With your DF, FWs and GD all having 18" range, you can shoot out 17 shots at a squad (19 if a Warfish), and not get assaulted. As long as the target you pick is not fleet or jump pack that is.

Yeah the FoF brings up memories. But itís OK, the changes in the rules have refreshed the game for me.

@ Watchdog: Love the paint scheme on the minis in that picture.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Ninja Tau/Mech Tau isn't power gaming. It's just good sense.
Scorefish = Devilfish + 6 Fire Warriors. It is a Scoring Devilfish.
1337green1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which deploys last? "Word in Your Ear", "Grand Illusion", or "Macharian Cross" davidgr33n The Inquisition 4 27 Dec 2007 05:52
Which deploys last? "Word in Your Ear", "Grand Illusion", or "Macharian Cross" davidgr33n Imperial Guard 5 24 Dec 2007 20:38
Efficiency of "Venerable" and "Death Company" for a drop Furioso drednought Knight Actual Space Marines 10 10 Oct 2007 19:10
"The Jack of all trades Shas'El" / "Why it can make sense to DS MP toting HQ's" israfel420 Tau 7 27 Sep 2007 07:38
"scratch" built Leman Russ in the style of German "Mouse" tank (pictures) saffo Conversion 22 19 May 2006 16:22