Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Anti-Termie
Old 29 Dec 2008, 21:39   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Anti-Termie

I'm new to 40k. I need anti-termie and I am not sure how to get rid of them.

The Hammerheads submunition shot will most likely kill weak infantry, but how affective is it on termies???

The codex says the missile pod is for light tank hunting ( is it?), but can it down termies?

If you could tell me of any other anit weapon plz tell me. thx
Zely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2008, 22:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: Anti-Termie

Well, there are two approaches: Quantity and Quality.

Quantity basically means shooting them with all you have and hoping for the best. This is only effective if you really throw a lot of punishment their way (especially since it takes 18 Pulse shots to down a single Termie on average).

Quality means tackling them with the right tools - Plasma Rifles and Fusion Blasters, which means Crisis Suits in the right configuration.
I used TL Plasma Rifles with TA with some success, but the Helios configuration is also effective (PR, FB, MT), especially with Pathfinder support.

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2008, 22:03   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

I'm fuzzy on the new rules for terminators, but I think they have an impressive invulnerable save in addition to their 2+ armor save. With a 3+ or 4+ invulnerable, there's no point in hitting them with the usual terminator-killing armor-piercing weaponry like plasma rifles and fusion blasters. They'll get a good save against even that, so you need to rely on massive amounts of shots. Hit them with rapid-fire pulse rifles, burst cannons, and maybe missile pods. Add markerlights to guarantee lots of hits, and just wait for them to fail enough saves. Even with the 2+ save, 1 out of every 6 dice should result in a dead termie.