Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

ethereals and kroot and drones
Old 16 Nov 2008, 23:24   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default ethereals and kroot and drones

I am new to the tau, and when i was assembling my tau i noticed that my fire warrior leader was the same thing as my ethereal. So how does that work, is there like the regular ethereals and then high ethereals? Also do the kroot create there own guns or are they provided by the tau, since they are allies. If they are provided by the tau then why are they not as good as fire warrior weapons. The last two questions were about lore not actual gameplay statistics such as ballance of armies, also please provide codex page numbers for answers if possible. And my final question is about gameplay. If you have a squad of sniper drones and the spotter gets killed, the drones stay on the board and act as senery, correct? ???

taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2008, 23:46   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: ethereals and kroot and drones

1. Ethereals do have ranks
2. They create they're own guns and the Tau modified them to make them better, however, they remain made by Kroot so they aren't that good.
3. No, the models are removed (they crash and blow up, not fall gently to the ground).
LOL=== []\
L \ \
\_________\
| |
-------------/
leatherback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2008, 23:56   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

thanks you were a big help

taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2008, 23:59   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Hmmmm im not sure you can say Kroot Guns arent any good...they are a bolter equivalent weapon the counts as 2 CC weapons in attack. - Thats pretty good.

They do have 1 less strength and 6" less range than a pulse rifle - but the Kroot are just as good as shooting as the Tau (same BS) and the +1 attack you get in CC equals out the lack of S5 I think.