Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports
Reply
Old 14 Nov 2008, 00:16   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 349
Default Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Hi,

Playing a game, I had a FW squad light up an ork transport with a markerlight and the rest of teh squad fired their rifles.

The markerlight hit, but then the rifles destroyed the transport. Most of the squad it was carrying ssurvived, does the markerlight token stay on the unit which was in the transport or does it fizzle with the vehicle?
__________________
New Tau Project Log!
Jonagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 00:28   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 319
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

I believe since the markerlight was targeting the vehicle, once it is destroyed any surplus markers go with it. You would then proceed to target the survivors with new markerlights.
Ekiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 09:38   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bonneville (France)
Posts: 189
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Agree with Ekiel.. seems logical.. The light was on a Hull who no longer exists...
__________________


"Losses are acceptables, Failure is not" (R.Guilliman)
sarddok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 09:51   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekiel
I believe since the markerlight was targeting the vehicle, once it is destroyed any surplus markers go with it. You would then proceed to target the survivors with new markerlights.
Seconded. Note that a transport and the unit it carries are two different units, ruleswise.
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 15:30   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: glasgow, scotland
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to danton tyr
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

The markerlight you used, was it in the squad that shot?
Cause i thought that couldnt happen.
Danton'tyr
__________________
"I am the Bringer of Pestilance, the Giver of Plague, Disciple of Decay and a brother to an unstoppable force! All this I was given by the Lord of Decay, Father Nurgle. And my father has seen fit to give me a name. I AM MALATOX!!! Now, tell me what does you False-Emperor give you but his Infernal ssilence?!"

danton tyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 15:37   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bonneville (France)
Posts: 189
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danton'tyr
The markerlight you used, was it in the squad that shot?
Cause i thought that couldnt happen.
Danton'tyr
Well How?
__________________


"Losses are acceptables, Failure is not" (R.Guilliman)
sarddok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 15:40   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: glasgow, scotland
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to danton tyr
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Because i thought only networked markerlights could benifit thier own squad?
Danton'tyr
__________________
"I am the Bringer of Pestilance, the Giver of Plague, Disciple of Decay and a brother to an unstoppable force! All this I was given by the Lord of Decay, Father Nurgle. And my father has seen fit to give me a name. I AM MALATOX!!! Now, tell me what does you False-Emperor give you but his Infernal ssilence?!"

danton tyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 15:53   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bonneville (France)
Posts: 189
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danton'tyr
Because i thought only networked markerlights could benifit thier own squad?
Danton'tyr
That's not the problem. In the example above, the Shas'ui fire first with the markerlight, and "light" the truk... Then, the FW fire destroying the truk.. The question was, as the truk is destroyed, does the markerlight, can still count against the troops carried by the truk on this turn ?
And the answer is clearly NO, because the Truk, and the troop carried are not the same units...and the markerlight was already "used" against the truk.
__________________


"Losses are acceptables, Failure is not" (R.Guilliman)
sarddok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 16:07   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: glasgow, scotland
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to danton tyr
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

i know. but the questios stands, should the truk have been destroyed in the first place?
Danton'tyr
__________________
"I am the Bringer of Pestilance, the Giver of Plague, Disciple of Decay and a brother to an unstoppable force! All this I was given by the Lord of Decay, Father Nurgle. And my father has seen fit to give me a name. I AM MALATOX!!! Now, tell me what does you False-Emperor give you but his Infernal ssilence?!"

danton tyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Nov 2008, 16:10   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bonneville (France)
Posts: 189
Default Re: Quick Rule Question - Markerlight and Transports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danton'tyr
i know. but the questios stands, should the truk have been destroyed in the first place?
Danton'tyr
I don't think so... for they are 2 different units (truk and troops carried), and that the markerlight has been already used against the truk.. It cannot be used again against the troops.
__________________


"Losses are acceptables, Failure is not" (R.Guilliman)
sarddok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Markerlight question medd Tau 2 23 Aug 2009 23:01
Quick question about CC and the Gauss rule Shasel_Ahab Necrons 3 23 Mar 2009 03:59
quick markerlight question majonga Tau 3 17 Jan 2009 16:22
Quick markerlight question robidark Tau 15 11 Aug 2008 11:41
Quick Markerlight Question Sting2 Tau 5 12 Jul 2008 04:09