Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

can a scouting devilfish land?
Reply
Old 14 Oct 2008, 11:48   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default can a scouting devilfish land?

Here is yet another thing that GW needs to add to the Tau FAQ. Tau skimmers can land in their movement phase as long they didn't otherwise move, but the codex says you can't claim they have landed on the first turn (basically, they had to get to the battlefield so they are considered moving). Fair enough, but what about this? Pathfinder devilfish, as long as the pathfinders are in them, get the scout rule, which means they get a full move before the first turn. Since a skimmer can land in its movement phase, can you land the pathfinders' transport in front of them? This would block LOS to the pathfinders for your opponent's first turn if he goes first, and the disruption pod will protect the devilfish quite well. Granted, if your opponent does manage to wreck or immobilize the 'fish then the pathfinders are out of action and can't see anything. Once it's your turn the skimmer can take off, assuming your opponent didn't kill it, opening the LOS for the markerlights.

Do you think this is legal, either under RAW or RAI?
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2008, 12:04   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 268
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

While the scouting move occurs just as if it were moving in the movement phase (and so, imo, permits stuff scouts can normally do in the movement phase, including disembarking, activating the turbo boost, etc), Codex Tau Empire overrides this by saying Landing Gear's benefit does not apply on the first turn of the game. I'd say it's barred by RAW and RAI.

If you want to fluff it, just remember how much flexibility and movement is implied by being allowed to take the scout move - landing would imply the Devilfish hadn't 'scouted' at all.
__________________
The Eastern Fringe Co-Prosperity Sphere wants YOU!
Pseudomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2008, 18:55   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 152
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudomancer
If you want to fluff it, just remember how much flexibility and movement is implied by being allowed to take the scout move - landing would imply the Devilfish hadn't 'scouted' at all.
They could have scouted ahead, found the enemy and set down while the pathfinders observed the enemy positions. Its not that far fetched an idea.
__________________
We don't know where we're going and can't remember where we've been.
Kovash745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Oct 2008, 19:18   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

There are ways to justify it, but I think the codex does make it pretty clear that it can't be used in the first turn.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2008, 00:21   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

There's an FAQ about this on the Games Workshop website. The Scout special rule extends only to the Pathfinders, not the Devilfish.

Sorry...good idea though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudomancer
Quote:
Originally Posted by monocleman
... :'(
Awww, don't cry! There, there. You'll mist up your monocle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew pew
Games workshop hurts babies. >
monocleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2008, 00:40   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

Quote:
Originally Posted by monocleman
There's an FAQ about this on the Games Workshop website. The Scout special rule extends only to the Pathfinders, not the Devilfish.

Sorry...good idea though.
That was the case in 4th edition, not 5th. The 5th edition rulebook specifically states that scout units embarked in (ie currently riding in) their dedicated transport confer the scout rule to their vehicle. So if you deploy the pathfinders in the fish, then the fish can make a regular move and have the pathfinders jump out. If you deploy the pathfinders on foot then they can walk but the fish has to hold still.

You're probably right about the question at hand, but it's an interesting one that wouldn't have been considered in 4th edition because the devilfish could never scout.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Oct 2008, 11:33   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 195
Default Re: can a scouting devilfish land?

The codex says "the benefit does not apply on the first turn of the game" I take that as meaning you cannot start the game landed.

The scout move "This is done exactly as in their movement phase" you can turbo boost as a scout move so why could you not land?

I do not see a valid argument against being able to land. Nice tactic knightperson.
cykosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scouting for Tau on Combat Patrol! Elemental_Elf Eldar Army Lists 2 19 Mar 2008 14:40
Land Raiders and Land Speeders Circus Freak Space Marines 3 14 Nov 2007 15:58
Space Marine Land Raider or Space Marines Devastator Squad and Land Speeder Ultra_17 Space Marines 8 16 Apr 2007 21:03
Forward Scouting with Pathfinders. wind777 Tau 2 10 Nov 2005 06:23