Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

I want to clarify Leadership tests.
Reply
Old 12 Oct 2008, 15:12   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 319
Default I want to clarify Leadership tests.

I was reading through a few forum posts and it was noticing some disagreements on taking leadership tests. I read through my rules book and just wanted to break it down for anybody that seemed unsure. (correct me if I'm wrong please.)

Shooting Phase - Only if a squad takes up to 25% casualties in the shooting phase do they need to take a leadership test. No negative modifiers in place, you simply need to roll 2d6 and score your leadership or less to pass. Fail and they fall back.

Assault Phase - The loser of an assault checks morale, 2d6 with negative modifiers in place. -1 per unit wounded in combat. Assault phase is more complicated. Only -1 per unit that actually takes a wound. If he armor saves (or cover/invul) the wound isn't counted. Also if a unit with multiple wounds dies from a power weapon in close combat, it counts as its maximum number of wounds. Example, crisis suit takes power weapon wound in combat, dies and counts as two wounds, no matter how many other wounds are allocated to it.

Assault phase combat is obviously tougher. But I hope this helps out.
Ekiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Oct 2008, 16:00   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Deployed to Afghanistan
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to TipTop1987 Send a message via Yahoo to TipTop1987
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekiel
Assault Phase - The loser of an assault checks morale, 2d6 with negative modifiers in place. -1 per unit wounded in combat. Assault phase is more complicated. Only -1 per unit that actually takes a wound. If he armor saves (or cover/invul) the wound isn't counted. Also if a unit with multiple wounds dies from a power weapon in close combat, it counts as its maximum number of wounds. Example, crisis suit takes power weapon wound in combat, dies and counts as two wounds, no matter how many other wounds are allocated to it.
I'm not really sure what you're trying to say here, but as far as I know, at the end of the assault phase, you count the number of unsaved wounds on each unit involved in combat. Who ever has the most, looses combat. You then subtract the lowest number of unsaved wounds from the highest, giving you your modifier.
__________________
"Our suits make us look bad-ass, and you know it!"
-XV-15, Dawn of War: Winter Assault mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashley Qualls when she saw the back packs for the Space Marine models for the first time
"There are little skulls on the back of them. That is so cute!"
(\_/) This is bunny.
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination.
TipTop1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2008, 09:04   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 319
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

pretty much what I said in a complicated way
Ekiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2008, 11:02   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Burgess Hill (Near Brighton)-England
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via MSN to Merqu
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

No it's not per wound. For example... Fire Warriors are charged by Space Marines... Space Marines kill 5 Fire Warriors and the fire Warriors kill 2 Space Marines. Space Marines won by 3 Wounds, so the tau take a -3 to their Leadership meaning they take thier Leadership at 5/4, depending on 'Ui or not.

Also so ya no Fearless works diffrently in combat... Lets say in the exact same senarior the Fire Warriors are Fearless. They lost by 3 wounds, so instead of taking a Leadership Test (they are Fearless and such immune to them) they take 3 ADDITION automatic Wounds with Saves aloud.
Merqu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2008, 13:41   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 157
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

so is it possible for a unit to have a minus leadership number? its possible with gaunts
Renolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2008, 14:42   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renolds
so is it possible for a unit to have a minus leadership number? its possible with gaunts
I believe that Insane Courage applies - I'd have to look, but I'm sure a Ld test always passes on a roll of 2.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Oct 2008, 14:56   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: on Dal'yth
Posts: 1,326
Default Re: I want to clarify Leadership tests.

Indeed. The rule is Insane Heroism, and is on page 43. So yes, you can reduce somebodies leadership to a negative value, but they will always have a 1/36 chance of passing anyway.

Cheers!
__________________
"The gue'la will either except our destiny, or die!"
-Shas'o Castris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faolin
"Human nature" only prevents a better future if we accept it as unchangeable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechTau
Shasocastris, since my return to these boards, nothing has made a bigger impression than you and your views.
shasocastris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Characters and Leadership Tests cykosis General 40K 4 27 Oct 2008 03:34
clarify please Master Hitaza Tau 61 19 Apr 2008 05:52
Just to clarify... sarnas Tau 8 29 Jun 2006 05:07
Clarify Shroud FOXX The Inquisition 8 19 Feb 2006 18:30
Ethereals and leadership/morale tests Shaso Rama Tau 30 15 Feb 2005 00:44