Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

capture and control
Reply
Old 09 Oct 2008, 15:41   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 49
Default capture and control

ok if I take 12 FW and a devil fish with the normal burst cannons and sms(instead of drones) does the devil fish count as a troop, for captureing or is it just able to contend the point? my friend says it would only count as a troop when then FW are in it, I say that since it is in the Codex under troops then its a troop. could someone help me out on this?
__________________
Professional soldiers are predictable; the world is full of dangerous amateurs.
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 15:51   #2 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: capture and control

It is a troop choice, yes, but only troop choices that are not vehicles can claim objectives. It can however, contest objectives.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 15:52   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: capture and control

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBrown
ok if I take 12 FW and a devil fish with the normal burst cannons and sms(instead of drones) does the devil fish count as a troop, for captureing or is it just able to contend the point? my friend says it would only count as a troop when then FW are in it, I say that since it is in the Codex under troops then its a troop. could someone help me out on this?
The 'fish by itself never counts as scoring unit a since it is not a troop...but there was indeed something about this in BoB which stated something along the line that a transport with (non vehicular) troops in it counted a scoring if within 3" of the objective.

But I'm at work so I cannot confirm this.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 15:52   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 195
Default Re: capture and control

You are both right in a way.

The Devilfish does count as a troop choice when taken as a transport for a fire warrior squad. When it has Fire Warriors or Kroot inside it can claim an objective 3" from the hull.

However you cannot claim objectives with it when it is empty as it is a vehicle and they cannot claim even when they are a troops choice.
cykosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 16:16   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PT Mugu, CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: capture and control

But, they can contest it when empty ;D
__________________
Never appeal to a man's better nature, they may not have one. Instead appeal to their greed, everyone has greed....EVERYONE.
--Lazarus Long
BONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 17:45   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: capture and control

Or better yet, they can go ahead and tank shock the enemy troops clear off the objective.
__________________
Alright Blood Angels, who wants to play pin the Tau on the carnifex!
Sau1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Oct 2008, 20:07   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: capture and control

yeah thats what I will prolly be doing, since I can't take a control point with it.
__________________
Professional soldiers are predictable; the world is full of dangerous amateurs.
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2008, 04:53   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: capture and control

Quote:
Originally Posted by cykosis
You are both right in a way.

The Devilfish does count as a troop choice when taken as a transport for a fire warrior squad. When it has Fire Warriors or Kroot inside it can claim an objective 3" from the hull.

However you cannot claim objectives with it when it is empty as it is a vehicle and they cannot claim even when they are a troops choice.
What about the drones off a devilfish? They aren't vehicles. Maybe we'll get /something/ for that blasted kill point.
sfogarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2008, 06:22   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 653
Default Re: capture and control

I recall it being mention somewhere that they form a 2-drone squadron, and hence count as a FA unit. But granted since it came from a fish it should count as a troop.
__________________

Hail to the God-Emperor, Baby!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khathecleric
My love runs her Sisters with melta, so it does get rather hot for my suits when she's around. :P
I just gotta comment that I LOVE all the inuendo in this statement right here... hehe
Quote:
Originally Posted by GyrfalconXV25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watchdog
Quote:
Originally Posted by GyrfalconXV25
Is that penetration only for vehicles?
What else would you like to penetrate?
Sisters of battle for starters.....
Khathecleric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Oct 2008, 08:53   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 195
Default Re: capture and control

That is a very good point and would make the drones a lot more useful, I'm definitely using that for my games. Even if I have to roll for it with my opponent it'll be worth it for the games I win the roll :P
cykosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outpointed Orks Fight Eldar (1470 vs. 2000 Capture and Control) May 25, 2009 Droofus Battle Reports 3 26 May 2009 15:14
[BatRep] CSM vs. Eldar - 2000p Capture and Control/Spearhead Akaiyou Eldar Army Lists 3 24 Oct 2008 16:27
[BatRep] CSM vs. Eldar - 2000p Capture and Control/Spearhead (WIP) Akaiyou Forces of Chaos 0 18 Oct 2008 22:06
[BatRep] Tyranids vs Necrons - 3000 point Capture And Control/Dawn of War Akaiyou Battle Reports 7 07 Oct 2008 00:40
[BatRep] Tyranids vs Necrons - 3000 point Capture And Control/Dawn of War Akaiyou Battle Reports 4 05 Oct 2008 07:30