Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

how do i counter harlequins?
Old 08 Oct 2008, 05:07   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default how do i counter harlequins?

my friend who plays eldar and i play all the time and he started loading his harlequin team in a falcon to pretty much move across the entire table in one turn with his 36 inches and then unloading the harlequin to assault me. how do i counter these things?
yoogK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Oct 2008, 06:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: how do i counter harlequins?

I'm not really an expert on Eldar, but I'm pretty sure you can't unload the same turn you move 36". Could be wrong about that one....anyway, just shoot down his Falcon or immobilize it, we're tau---we're good at that stuff. When the harlequins pile out, vape 'em with fire warriors. 5+ Invulnerable saves are kind of a joke for such expensive units.
Old 08 Oct 2008, 07:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via MSN to Ravager

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoogK
my friend who plays eldar and i play all the time and he started loading his harlequin team in a falcon to pretty much move across the entire table in one turn with his 36 inches and then unloading the harlequin to assault me. how do i counter these things?
1. Vehicles may Embark or Disembark troops in any given turn, but never both in the same turn.
2. A Vehicle cannot Embark or Disembark passengers at all if it is going to move faster than Cruising Speed (over 12")

I think it's pretty clear your friend is cheating if he picks up the harlies, uses star engines, then disembarks them in the same turn. Especially if he assaults with them in that turn. You can only assault out of a vehicle that moved if it is open topped.

In addition, harlequins are weak against close range pulse fire, or SMS fire, and are not fearless…

We have done the impossible... and that makes us mighty.