Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Scoutfish
Reply
Old 04 Sep 2008, 21:43   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 38
Default Scoutfish

With the new edition is also the rule that if a scout unit is deployed into a dedicated transport, the transport also gains the scout rule. Since this movement is done exactly as in the movement phase, I am reading it as you can deploy Pathfinders in their Devilfish, move the Devilfish 12" as their Scout move, and then the Pathfinders can disembark. Basically, giving Pathfinders up to 14" movement before the game starts, instead of 6".

Has anyone else given this some thought? Since Pathfinders seem to be coming under more fire, it is an extra option if your pathfinders really need to reposition. Start them in the fish, with a squad of Firewarriors nearby. If the pathfinders are ok, as is, disembark them and move them if needed, pop in the Firewarriors at the start of your game.

Hmmmmm....... if Pathfinders started in a tank, and then disembarked and moved during the Scout move phase, would the tank still have the Scout ability and be able to make a Scout move as well?
MalteseFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2008, 21:47   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Scoutfish

it's not like the tank could move far after the pathfinders deployed. and besides i find that it's much safer to keep the pathfinders close to their fish.
SilentRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2008, 21:52   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Scoutfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalteseFalcon
Hmmmmm....... if Pathfinders started in a tank, and then disembarked and moved during the Scout move phase, would the tank still have the Scout ability and be able to make a Scout move as well?
Excellent question and with 2 possible ruling:

A) By disembarking the pathfinder 'takes' with them their Scout ability which is thus not confered on the 'fish (since they are no longer in the 'fish).

b) by starting their Scout move in the devilfish, it gets it even if they disembark.

I would say it would have ot beclarify with your opponent before hand...unless a FAQ/errata somewhere say otherwise.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2008, 23:51   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Scoutfish

The scout move is treated exactly like a normal move. So you can do anythinf that you can normally do in the movement phase. Alson, if I'm not mistaken it says that they confer the scout rule to the vehicle if they are deployed in it. It doesn't say that they have to still be in it afterwards.
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Sep 2008, 05:32   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 653
Default Re: Scoutfish

So... In a practical sense, the Warfish Scoutmoves 6", disembark the Pathfinders, then can zip a further 12" and lob SMS at a target even in the dead of night?
__________________

Hail to the God-Emperor, Baby!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khathecleric
My love runs her Sisters with melta, so it does get rather hot for my suits when she's around. :P
I just gotta comment that I LOVE all the inuendo in this statement right here... hehe
Quote:
Originally Posted by GyrfalconXV25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watchdog
Quote:
Originally Posted by GyrfalconXV25
Is that penetration only for vehicles?
What else would you like to penetrate?
Sisters of battle for starters.....
Khathecleric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Sep 2008, 05:46   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to Tralfagar Send a message via MSN to Tralfagar Send a message via Yahoo to Tralfagar
Default Re: Scoutfish

Wouldn't the transport's movement end when a squad (dis)embarks if it has moved?

Thus the DF would move 6", the Pathfinders disembark, and that's that for the DF's movement during the scout-move. Alternatively, you could move the pathfinders out of the DF, move 6" with them, and then move upto 12" with the DF during the scout move.

Seems to make more sense that way, because then you would be able to fire with the ML's on turn 1.
__________________
Home-Brewed
Tau Mercenary Rubric(Deadnight)
Warhammer 40k d10 Edition(Wargamer)
Codex: Farsight Enclaves(me)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekyGator
The divide between what gets put up on an art gallery and what gets you thrown in jail is mostly dependent on the quality of the frame, even though both are just as good for fapping.
Tralfagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Sep 2008, 16:59   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Scoutfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khathecleric
So... In a practical sense, the Warfish Scoutmoves 6", disembark the Pathfinders, then can zip a further 12" and lob SMS at a target even in the dead of night?
Why would it only move 6"? The devilfish could scout move 12" deploy the pathfinders... then when the game begins it could move another 12" and fire off smart missiles. Fairly brutal.
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On