Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Shield Gens VS Shield Drones
Old 21 Aug 2008, 00:36   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Shield Gens VS Shield Drones

With the new wound allocation rules in the 5th edition, isn't it better to spend the extra points and take 2 Sheild Drones than a Sheild Generator? Plus the Drones can be taken as a Hard Wired Option, whereas the Generator cannot. Any thoughts?
Shasel_Aunat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2008, 00:58   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Re: Sheild Gens VS Sheild Drones

I'm fairly new to Tau so take my thoughts with a pinch of salt. :-X

Taking a Shield Drone over the Generator has its merits because, like you said, it provides extra wounds to allocate, as well as being a hard-wired option. In addition, you'll also have some extra (but rather cruddy) attacks you can make if you're caught in assault. I think some people prefer the Generator because once those drones are gone (i.e. from a Powerfist and such) you'll be stuck without an invulnerable save, making your suits susceptible again to Instant Death.

The Generator on the other hand cannot be destroyed, and is what I usually equip on my Shas'O with (since he doesn't need a targeting array and anything else can usually be found as a hard-wired option). However, if you've got the extra points that you really can't spend anywhere else, I would recommend the Drones.

Coincidentally, does anyone know if Drones and Generators convey the Invulnerable Save to the entire squad? Or is it just the puchasing model?
Old 21 Aug 2008, 01:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aunny
With the new wound allocation rules in the 5th edition, isn't it better to spend the extra points and take 2 Sheild Drones than a Sheild Generator? Plus the Drones can be taken as a Hard Wired Option, whereas the Generator cannot. Any thoughts?