Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Kroots in devilfish ???
Reply
Old 13 Aug 2008, 13:42   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Default Kroots in devilfish ???

Can kroots now use devilfish ? I know the vehicule have to be assigned to either a unit of FW, pathfinders or an ethereal w or w/out guards, but it only states that the only unit that can be fitted in the transport AT THE START OF THE GAME is the one it as been assigned to. After that, anything goes, as long as it fits.
korto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 13:53   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium, Burcht
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to Pisces_808
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???


The answer is simple: "Yes they can."
As the rules for dedicated transports have changed. You can't however transport a unit of 20 Kroot in the DF. Just your maximum of 12 models... but what about Krootox???

Greetz
__________________

Pisces_808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 14:05   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Like Pisces said - yeah, you can. The dedicated transport rules have been changed so that no other unit can deploy in them, but any unit that meets criteria can use them.

And its "Kroot," never ever "Kroots"
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 14:30   #4 (permalink)
Nox
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pisces_808

The answer is simple: "Yes they can."
As the rules for dedicated transports have changed. You can't however transport a unit of 20 Kroot in the DF. Just your maximum of 12 models... but what about Krootox???

Greetz
Krootox can be transported also, and unless it gets FAQed they only count as 1 model for transport in the devilfish.
Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 15:41   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Pisces, why not Kroots with an S at the end ?
korto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 15:54   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by korto
Pisces, why not Kroots with an S at the end ?
Because its terrible grammar, and incorrect. The plural for Kroot, like sheep, is still Kroot. Same with Eldar - there is no such thing as Eldars. Just remember sheep - you don't call a group of sheep, sheeps, and you don't plural Kroot and Eldar as Kroots and Eldars.

Just a pet peeve, but hey.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 18:01   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,830
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elle
Quote:
Originally Posted by korto
Pisces, why not Kroots with an S at the end ?
Because its terrible grammar, and incorrect. The plural for Kroot, like sheep, is still Kroot. Same with Eldar - there is no such thing as Eldars. Just remember sheep - you don't call a group of sheep, sheeps, and you don't plural Kroot and Eldar as Kroots and Eldars.

Just a pet peeve, but hey.
some people do call a group of sheep sheeps... but anyway... you can put kroot in the devilfish, and a hound or ox olny counts as 1 (for now)
__________________
Kansas city club at frostreaver.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAFTACP
You're playing the wrong game if you're concerned with things looking look like toys...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Steel (Aun Leketh)
I have a response to that... it involves a dreadsock... :P
steck_638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 18:37   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 122
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

So basically what you do here is assign a Devilfish to a Fire Warrior Squad, and then in the first turn, move your Devilfish away from the Fire Warriors and towards the Kroot and then load 12 Kroot on?

Does this mean that if I get 8 Pathfinders and the mandatory Devilfish for the Pathfinders, after I have moved my Pathfinders into position, I can then fly the Devilfish towards my Fire Warriors and have some FOF action going on?
__________________
An American currently living in the frozen center of Canada - Winnipeg.
Sting2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 18:41   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Indeed you can.

Dedicated transports are no longer stuck with the unit that bought them. The only restriction is that the only unit that can deploy in them is the unit it is bought for.

After that, the usual transport restrictions apply, so no fitting 20 kroot into a fish. As mentioned, until a FAQ changes it Krootox are only technically one model, although I would assume that will change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steck_638
some people do call a group of sheep sheeps...
Yeah, but they are wrong :P
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Aug 2008, 18:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Kroots in devilfish ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elle
Quote:
Originally Posted by steck_638
some people do call a group of sheep sheeps...
Yeah, but they are wrong :P
I call mine food.

So due to this new 'usable by freindly unit' rule, you don't need as many Devilfish on the table as before. Isn't it neat?
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kroots Valzin Tau 8 04 Sep 2007 14:37
Kroots Dave Forces of Chaos 3 12 Jan 2007 22:16
Kroots Komrad Showcase 19 12 Nov 2006 19:09
'Kroots' Pollo Tau 22 14 Mar 2006 15:36
Eat Your Enemy! - Kroots undead Tau 12 10 Dec 2004 13:02