Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

cover for skimmers?
Closed Thread
Old 04 May 2005, 22:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,937
Default cover for skimmers?

in the set phase of the game u can place skimmers be hind cove like a ruin building r and there protected from LOS right or are they hovering over the cover and can still be shot ?
__________________
Tau wins 38 tie 2 lost 8

Death Guard win 13 tie 0 lost 2

dark eldar wins 5 tie 0 lost 1
frankthetank is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 22:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 658
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

They are protected, long as they are not hovering ABOVE the cover. (they cannot shoot out)
VV1LD is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 22:33   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

but once they move they are now hovering right? so no protecton if u shoot at the through some ruin building after they moved so hovering dose it affect any thing ?
__________________
Tau wins 38 tie 2 lost 8

Death Guard win 13 tie 0 lost 2

dark eldar wins 5 tie 0 lost 1
frankthetank is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 22:40   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Outskirts of the Kindom of Daley...in other words, in a Chicago Suburb
Posts: 638
Send a message via AIM to stealth_cat_xv88 Send a message via MSN to stealth_cat_xv88 Send a message via Yahoo to stealth_cat_xv88
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

as I understand it, if totally concealed by an object you can't be seen (obviously)
but you can't claim hull-down cuz you'd be skimming above the obstacle...i think....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wood Gecko (Diplodactylus Vittatus)
aw... he's so cute... wha?... a gun?....nice kitty.... nice kitty.... BOOM!
"Strategy is finding an s-o-b whom you rank and telling him to take a place, and relieving him if he doesn't." ~General George Patton
stealth_cat_xv88 is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 22:43   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

I think you have to decide in the beginning whether its skimming low or high. If its low, it can be in cover with a LOS. If its high, then you do have a LOS and you CAN be shot.
Th3n4m31zm1k3 is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 23:10   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 658
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

Yes, and you can also choose to hover above a piece of terrain (end movement phase above it). This I am pretty sure of, although not 100%.
VV1LD is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 23:10   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 658
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

Unless you declare that you are going to "float up" in movement phase, you are considered to be flying low.
VV1LD is offline  
Old 04 May 2005, 23:37   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3n4m31zm1k3
I think you have to decide in the beginning whether its skimming low or high. If its low, it can be in cover with a LOS. If its high, then you do have a LOS and you CAN be shot.
Not exactly. As far as shooting goes, skimmers, like all other vehicles, can not fire through size 3 area terrain, nor may opponents fire at it from the other side. They may not skim high in order to fire over it. If it is size 2 area terrain, then hits against it will count as being against an obscured target, and the skimmer may fire as normal. Size 1 area terrain never allows vehicles behind it to be considered hull down.

Now, if the skimmer is in the area terrain, this is different. In this case, it never counts as obscured, no matter how high the area terrain is. There is no mention of the effect of the area terrain on the vehicles itself in this case. I would assume that its own line of site is likewise not hampered by the area terrain it is hovering over.
khanaris is offline  
Old 05 May 2005, 00:05   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

what page is obscured target on in the rule book i cant find it?
__________________
Tau wins 38 tie 2 lost 8

Death Guard win 13 tie 0 lost 2

dark eldar wins 5 tie 0 lost 1
frankthetank is offline  
Old 05 May 2005, 00:42   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: cover for skimmers?

Obscured Targets: Page 69.

The simple way to answer this question easily: When you end your move in impassible or difficult terrain, you either crash, or you claim you are "hovering." If you hover, you gain no benefits of obscured targets and everyone has full line of sight upon your vehicle.

If you end your move behind something which blocks line of sight or augments it (such as terrain or other vehicles or monstrous creatures) then unless you claim "hovering" you may claim benefits from being obscured or totally blocking line of sight to your vehicle.
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
skimmers & cover. krupintupple General 40K 7 27 Jun 2007 20:44
Skimmers and terrain as cover question Kugelblitz Tau 4 02 May 2007 22:26
Using Skimmers as Cover Zenith_XS General 40K 26 02 May 2007 18:55
Skimmers/Jetbikes and cover karnij7877 General 40K 1 23 Apr 2007 15:31
Do Skimmers block LOS to other skimmers/large targets? Olannon Tau 5 11 Oct 2006 01:59