Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Marker light and seeker missile help
Old 14 Apr 2008, 14:00   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Marker light and seeker missile help

I'm fairly new to playing Tau and I'm in the process of doing a Farsight Enclave. Because of this, I'm only allowed 1 unit of Piranhas and 1 Skyray. I plan on equipping my piranhas with a seeker missile each. So my next question, is how does this work with the marker light rules?

For the piranhas, do I have to have someone else target something with a marker light before the piranhas can launch a missile? If so, can I chose how many missiles to launch, or will they all have to let them fly?

For the skyray, does it shoot seeker missiles like it would shoot any other weapon, or do I have to target something with a market light, then pass another BS test to fire the missile?

As you can see, I'm a bit confused....but I'm sure once someone explains these rules, it'll be easy.

Thanks!
thralkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2008, 14:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: Marker light and seeker missile help

Seekers always need a Markerlight hit to fire.

The procedure is as follows: You score, say, 4 Markerlight hits with Pathfinders, and get four Markers.

Then, you choose what to do with the Markers. You decide to launch 4 Missiles (one for every Marker): 2 from the Skyray (reducing its Seekers to 4), and 2 from Piranhas. You can choose fromwhich vehicle how many Seekers are fired, so it is up to you.

So, no, you don`t have to fire all Seekers of a vehicle at the same time - which would be impossible, anyways, since all Seekers need a Marker - and try to get 6 Markers for a Skyray

As a side note: You don`t HAVE to use all Markers for Seekers. You could use 2 Markers for Seekers, an 2 Markers to increase the BS of a unit of Firewarriors aiming at the target, and so on.