Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

[ADVICE] Wannabe Tau Player Questions
Old 12 Apr 2008, 10:33   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default [ADVICE] Wannabe Tau Player Questions

Hello,

Well I'm pondering which 40K army I wish to start playing, I'm new to Warhammer 40k and I like the Tau models so I thought what the heck!

I'm hoping some of you Tau players will be able to share your wisdom on the ways of the Tau and what the amry is like to play, so I have a couple of questions below which I would be appriciated if you could help me with

1) What are the main strengths and weaknesses of the Tau army (is it good range, bad melee)?

2) My friends play Chaos, Necron, Dark Angels and Imperial Guard. Could you give me an idea of which one of these I'll have problems with and which ones you think the Tau are pretty well set up against?

3) Can I equip the Tau Commander with a stealth field generator? in the codex its listed in the armoury but not give any points.

4) Last question, whats the difference between a Commander Shas'o and a Commander Shas'el? Beside the stats difference, is it because ones simply cheaper than the other for low point battles?

Sorry if these are "noob" questions, I just cant seem to find the answers trawling the forums : /

King regards,

L.
lmjones1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Apr 2008, 10:44   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Re: [ADVICE] Wannabe Tau Player Questions

1) check http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=63541.0 and other topics, there really are heaps and heaps of topics about general Tau tactics etc... just browse the forum for a while ;D
it will pay out, I promise
And if you have the codex already you will quickly notice the general tendency of a Tau army... Just look at the gun a Fire Warrior comes with and you´ll see 8)