Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Starting tau recently
Old 07 Apr 2008, 10:38   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via AIM to §fallen§
Default Starting tau recently

Hi I am not new at 40k but I am new at new the last army I played was Sapce Wolves and am thinking about using commander Farsight (O' Shavah)
or commander shadowsun. What do you think?
Old 07 Apr 2008, 10:46   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: Starting tau recently

Well, the general rule of the thumb about those special characters is that they are not for the faint-hearted and that they are not easy to use. Since you are new to the tau, I say it is best to start off wit a normal commander instead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Apr 2008, 10:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

The sole problem with the two is they require at least 1500pt games to be fielded, so don't buy them first up.

They are both very good and unique commanders, and can lead to a very fun match. Maybe their only downside is lack of customization, difficulty involved and Shadowsun's hard to define roll. Sit back and provide LD to static or move forward and blast with Fusion?
Korill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Apr 2008, 09:39   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Send a message via MSN to Jerry

I recommend you not to consider getting either of them until you get a proper 1500 point+ army.

And, you cannot emphasise how much the guys are right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisis_Vyper
Well, the general rule of the thumb about those special characters is that they are not for the fainthearted and that they are not easy to use. Since you are new to the tau, I say it is best to start off wit a normal commander instead.
No doubt, Farsight and Shadowsun are most definitely not for the faint hearted.