Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

tau tactic
Old 19 Mar 2008, 17:57   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default tau tactic

hi, i am new to 40k and want to get the tau. i was wondering if i should play offensivly or defensivly. if i play defenivly then all my men would be in one big group. is that a smart idea? ???
95% of teens would go into a panic attack if the jonas brothers were about to jump off the empire state building, copy and paste this if you? are the 5% who would pull up a lawn chair & grab some popcorn and yell JUMP
BITCHES!!!!!
Infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2008, 18:00   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: tau tactic

Due to the nature of 40k, you're going to want to mix offensive and defensive options. You need some form of mobility to capture objectives, and you want the ability to shrug off enemy attacks.

I'd advise using your firewarriors in close formations(within 12" of each other) in cover. They have the firepower to shoot anything they want to death, and with a cover save they can stand up to heavy weapons. You want your units close by so that they can concentrate firepower on things approaching them. If a squad of marines is in assault range, you want them DEAD!

Beware of setting up where your opponent can consolidate from unit to unit after he assaults.

That until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned: That until there are no longer first-class and second class citizens of any nation; That until the color of a man's skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes; That until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race; That until that day, the dream of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained; And until the ignoble an