Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?
Reply
Old 03 Mar 2008, 13:09   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Default Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

This question came up in a game I was playing on Friday. I basically had rolled my hammerhead to a chokepoint and began picking off transports. An ork battlewagon drove through cover and went under my tank and we were not sure if that was possible. I know enemy troops have to assault the tank if withint 1", and I also know that i can pass over units, etc. I agreed that he could in theory, but could not find any rule to state one way or the other in the rulebook. Am I overlooking something?
Nizno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 13:19   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 550
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

Under 4th Ed. rules, enemy units CANNOT pass under skimmers. Vehicles with a great AV can push the skimmers though.

Also, it's not that "enemy units have to assault tanks within 1 inch", but rather "enemy units cannot move within 1'' of a vehicle unless they are assaulting that vehicle".

Hope that clarifies things.
__________________
"That is not dead which can eternal lie.
And with strange aeons even death may die."

- Abdul Alhazred, The Mad Arab of Cthulhu Lore, on the subject of Chaos Tau [link]



"Zomg, teh Tau are teh evil bastardz, they suk at life."
copy and paste this into your sig if you hate Tau.

Proud member of Team CMAP - DON'T HOLD BACK- The time has come to- GALVANIZE!
Floobosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 13:23   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

Anything going under skimmer is not possible.

Skimmers are vehicles for all intent and purposes, and even though you may shoot the unit behind the skimmer due to it hovering, but for all intent and purposes you can not move under the skimmer. If the troops can't do it, a vehicle is most definitely out of the question.

__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 14:25   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

I can't seem to find the rules on pushing armour out of the way anywhere in the rulebook, but at the same time I'm not 100% familiar with the rulebook cover to cover yet as I just started playing. Where does it talk about pushing armour with armour?
Nizno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 14:31   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16,024
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

If your talking about fluff here, vehicles can't really go under skimmers as a skimmer typically travels along at about 1-2 meters above the ground. High enough to permit troops to bend down and walk under, but not high enough to permit most vehicles under with that clearance. Although it is conceivable that a bike could slide under if they're careful.
FTyross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 14:32   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 508
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nizno
I can't seem to find the rules on pushing armour out of the way anywhere in the rulebook, but at the same time I'm not 100% familiar with the rulebook cover to cover yet as I just started playing. Where does it talk about pushing armour with armour?
it's tankshocking... I think o.o since vehicles have no Ld, they have to move out of the way.
__________________
Manta angry! Manta smash! Manta bash!
Cyven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 15:08   #7 (permalink)
AC
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 751
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

According to some rumors, in 5th ed, You can ram a tank with the strength of a krak missile.
__________________
Exitus Acta Probat "the Outcome justifies the Deed"
- Vindicare Assassin Temple Motto

There are three things that matter in marksmanship. Location, Location, Location - Vindicare Assassin Training Dogma.

I do not know what World War Three will be fought with, but I know that World War Four will be fought with sticks and stones - Albert Einstein

Semper Fi
AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 15:29   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK, DEVON
Posts: 516
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisis_Vyper
Anything going under skimmer is not possible.

Skimmers are vehicles for all intent and purposes, and even though you may shoot the unit behind the skimmer due to it hovering, but for all intent and purposes you can not move under the skimmer. If the troops can't do it, a vehicle is most definitely out of the question.

Are you saying that enemy's can shoot you when you are stood behind your hovering transport. As far as I was aware that is not the case unless you take a LD test.
But feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
__________________
The iron never lies to you. You can walk outside and listen to all kinds of talk, get told that you?re a god or a total bastard. The iron will always kick you the real deal. The iron is the great reference point, the all-knowing perspective giver. Always there like a beacon in the pitch black. I have found the iron to be my greatest friend. It never freaks out on me, never runs. Friends may come and go. But, two hundred pounds is always two hundred pounds.
Joey Goldcoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 15:30   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 646
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

More likely it has something to do with the mass of the rammer and the speed at which they rammed.

As far as vehicles, it's under Tank Shock, on page 70.

Skimmers can move over enemy troops. Dunno if this includes vehicles. I don't see why. If you can fly over my xv8s, why can't you fly over a trukk?
__________________
That until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned: That until there are no longer first-class and second class citizens of any nation; That until the color of a man's skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes; That until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race; That until that day, the dream of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained; And until the ignoble an
VerjigormDeExile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Mar 2008, 15:35   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Behind you... No, not that way, the other way...
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via MSN to halohog
Default Re: Can enemy vehicles pass under skimmers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VerjigormDeExile
More likely it has something to do with the mass of the rammer and the speed at which they rammed.
Exactly what I was thinking. And shoudn't there be a risk of the charging vehicle damaging itself?

Quote:
Skimmers can move over enemy troops. Dunno if this includes vehicles. I don't see why. If you can fly over my xv8s, why can't you fly over a trukk?
Yes, this most definately include vehicles. Skimmers can fly over whatever they want and not give a damn. Heck, they could even hover over an enemy tank for a few turns if they wanted to!
__________________
This is not a signature.
halohog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is the skull pass set any good? jacktheodd The Warhammer World 3 24 Feb 2009 13:35
To Pass or Fail? L0ngshotTau Tau 6 29 Apr 2007 00:10
Do Skimmers block LOS to other skimmers/large targets? Olannon Tau 5 11 Oct 2006 01:59
Battle For Skull Pass ToastMaster The Warhammer World 9 31 Aug 2006 23:51
Question on LOS to Skimmers? My Skimmers are dying to Know! Wolf-Tau Tau 32 13 Apr 2005 23:39