Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

What next?
Old 28 Feb 2008, 20:22   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default What next?

I am new to Tau, have a Hammerhead/Skyray, full Elite choices of XV8s and XV25s, and 8 fire warriors. What is good next? I have already decided on a commander, and I can use some suits as one in the mean time. I am going for a hybrid or mech army.

-By Timjim
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord-General Thunder
If you want durability, you play Space Marines. If you want strength, you play Tyranids.

If you want to dump firepower into your enemy until not even dental records will be enough to identify them, you play Imperial Guard.
Dan_teal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2008, 20:28   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: What next?

Well, obviously, you need a second Troop choice. I would say a unit of Kroot would be a fine addition; a second Firewarrior team would also come in handy.

If you go Hybrid, Broadsides are a great choice (Ive recently started to field them, myself).

Piranhas are also advisable, though they need some running in, until you`re familiar with them.

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Feb 2008, 20:55   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
Well, obviously, you need a second Troop choice. I would say a unit of Kroot would be a fine addition; a second Firewarrior team would also come in handy.
I agree 100% with the Kroot I field only 1 squad of Fire Warriors myself all my other troops are Kroot and their hounds. The numbers are depending on the point size games that I play but are always even 6,8,10 etc etc.

I would concider the following:

Another Hammer Head
a Devil Fish
a Broadside or 2
a Sniper Team

I agree with the Piranhas, they are very very helpful and fluffy.

All of these will give you options for either army type you are looking for.