Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

trouble with opponent...Any help?
Old 27 Feb 2008, 23:32   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default trouble with opponent...Any help?

Hey all I'm fairly new to the Tau (although I'm a long time 40K and fantasy player), but I'm having trouble against space marine drop pods. I've tried deploying as per usual against them, and also deep striking my crisis suits but i always seem to end up getting caught up in in CC and therefore annihilated.

any tips or tricks to avoid this would be much obliged!

BTW my opponent and i play on a 4X4 board, The models i have to play with (which aren't entirely ideal) are...

1 Crisis commander
5 crisis W/ plasma and missile pods
3 crisis W/ burst cannon's and plasma
3 stealth suits W/ markerlight drone
12 firewarriors (soon to be 20)
22 Drones

Thanks in advance for any guidance ;D
theherooftimesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2008, 23:46   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: trouble with opponent...Any help?

Well, nothing leaving a Drop Pod can charge right away. So at the very least you can run away when they show up. Adding a Devilfish might help you evacuate Fire Warriors from the area. Once they have landed, the unit inside is just a normal unit. They are not going to be fast enough to chase you down. And if your opponent splits the drop pods to prevent this, I would just focus on one group while the others catch up.

The bigger threat is Librarians in the drop pods, which hopefully your opponent will not discover. They are particularly nasty against Tau.

At anything more than 1,000 pts, you should not be playing on a 4'x4' table. That should solve a lot of your problem. 4'x4' gives you too little room to maneuver with larger armies.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2008, 23:50   #3 (permalink)
Tyr
Shas'Saal

it looks like you won't be playing very high points games.