Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

pathfinders and devilfish
Reply
Old 05 Feb 2008, 16:09   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Default pathfinders and devilfish

I understand that pathfinders must be given a devilfish, but must they begin the game mounted in it? Can the devilfish also be used to transport other units? Can the devilfish be deployed on the opposite side of the table in order to transport another unit?
kmcdanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 16:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 290
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

as far as I gather, the Devilfish is a dedicated transport vehicle and cannot be used to carry other units, but you can place the Pathfinders out of the vehicle (as the 'fish cannot use the scout special rule and therefore neither can they if in it.)

I think this is right but others may correct me...
__________________
"Ea’ya co’ge’tsua’m, sin’ro’era dao’or’mesme Tau’va"
-Por’El T’olku Vral’ta

"Lem otesh, lem koem dath kian na slidd"
-Raiph Hastoisista of the Iaereabelah

"We saw the fall of our race and we laughed,
We see the galaxy wreathed in war, and we laugh,
We know the futility of the universe and laugh and laugh!"
- A Shadowseer of the Dris'suith.

"La mayyitan ma quadirun yatabaqa sarmadi
fa itha yaji ash-shuthath al-mautu qad yantahi"
MonTor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 16:34   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia-US
Posts: 554
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

No, No, Yes(except the part about transporting other units.

They can be deployed separately, but as with any dedicated transport(one bought with a unit that doesn't occupy a FOC slot) they can't transport any unit except the one that was bought with them. This is different than, say, a Land Raider bought as Heavy support, which can transport anyone.

Also important to note that even though the pathfinders can make a scout move the devilfish can't.
Darth_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 18:20   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

OK cool thanks, another question. Is there any significance to the pathfinders markerlights called "markerlight target designator"? Can they fire there markerlights at different units?
kmcdanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 18:47   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

No. they cannot fire at different units...unless one is upgrades to team leader/shas'ui and given a HW target lock which would allow you totarget 2 units (1 for the shas'ui and one for the rest)
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 19:47   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 290
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

I have a question;

if I have a VDR vehicle that is Fast Attack AND can be used as a Troop transport (less than 50 pts. of weapons)

can it replace the Pathfinder 'fish as stated in the VDR
or does 'must take' (in the Codex) mean they can only take a Devilfish?
__________________
"Ea’ya co’ge’tsua’m, sin’ro’era dao’or’mesme Tau’va"
-Por’El T’olku Vral’ta

"Lem otesh, lem koem dath kian na slidd"
-Raiph Hastoisista of the Iaereabelah

"We saw the fall of our race and we laughed,
We see the galaxy wreathed in war, and we laugh,
We know the futility of the universe and laugh and laugh!"
- A Shadowseer of the Dris'suith.

"La mayyitan ma quadirun yatabaqa sarmadi
fa itha yaji ash-shuthath al-mautu qad yantahi"
MonTor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Feb 2008, 20:15   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 423
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

you must take the devilfish. If it said, must take a dedicted transport, and your opponent agrees, you would be able to use if. If you are just having a fun game with frineds, ask to use it, it may not be legal, but it will be fun
__________________


C:\Users\Samuel\Pictures\SINDRI.jpg
fattyboy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2008, 17:22   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

Im still confused on what a pulse Carbine with a markerlight Target designator exactly is. Can both the markerlight and Carbine be fired in the same turn? What is the max range for the Markerlight and Carbine (18" or 36")?
kmcdanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Feb 2008, 17:58   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Marcos, Texas
Posts: 93
Default Re: pathfinders and devilfish

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmcdanie
Im still confused on what a pulse Carbine with a markerlight Target designator exactly is. Can both the markerlight and Carbine be fired in the same turn? What is the max range for the Markerlight and Carbine (18" or 36")?
They are practically two different guns. You ether shoot one or the other (but you can 2 guys shoot their marker lights and the 6 other guys shoot pulse carbines).
Carbine range is 18" and the Markerlight is 36" has stated in the codex.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
No more than one demo charge per sub unit you crazy bomberman.
zannal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pathfinders and devilfish?? Raving Bonkers Tau 8 28 Apr 2010 19:49
Pathfinders needing a devilfish... Chtzi dua ryu ruo Tau 35 14 Dec 2009 06:13
Pathfinders and their devilfish, what do they count as? Silverwing Tau 36 28 Sep 2005 01:15
Devilfish Tactic w/ Pathfinders and Fire Warriors Black Behemoth Tau 6 30 Jun 2005 19:51
Pathfinders and the Devilfish Savient Tau 14 07 Oct 2004 02:40